Motorcycle Racing News 2011 Dakar Motorcycles: Final Highlights

2011 Dakar Motorcycles: Final Highlights

2011 Dakar Rally Video

For the third time in Dakar history, Marc Coma won the title, the KTM 450 Rally rider beating his nemesis Cyril Despres b 15:04 minutes. Coma also brought KTM their 10th Dakar victory.

In the actual final stage (13), the riders traveled from Cordoba to Buenos Aires through a 645-km link and a relatively short 181-km special, which finished at the Baradero racing track in the Argentinean capital.

The top three to win in the final stage on Saturday were Frans Verhoeven (Belgium, BMW) who took the win; he was followed by Helder Rodrigues (Portugal, Yamaha) and Jean De Azevedo (Brazil, KTM). Despres took fourth, Coma fifth.

Coma rode smartly, knowing he had the time on everyone for the overall win. As for third, it looked to be Chilean rider Francisco "Chaleco" Lopez; he was the only rider to remain within an hour of Coma and Despres throughout the second half of 2011 Dakar.

But he had some major issues during the final stage; he broke a rear shock absorber just 22 km from the end, and lost third overall to Rodrigues. Chaleco would have to settle for fourth, and fifth went to Juan Pedrero of Spain on yet another KTM Rally 450; he finished 3:07.03 seconds behind Coma.

2011 Dakar Rally Stage 13 Results
1. Frans Verhoeven, Belgium, BMW
2. Helder Rodrigues, Portugal, Yamaha at 00:05
3. Jean De Azevedo, Brazil, KTM, 26:04 at 00:05
4. Cyril Despres, France, KTM, at 00:44
5. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM at 2:16

2011 Dakar Rally Final Overall Results
1. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM
2. Cyril Despres, France, KTM, at 15:04
3. Helder Rodrigues, Portugal, Yamaha, 1:40:20
4. Chaleco Lopez, Chile, Aprilia,
5. Juan Pedrero, Spain, KTM at 3:07:03
6. Pal Anders Ullevalseter, Norway, KTM at 3:32:56
7. Jean De Azevedo, Brazil, KTM, 3:59:38
8. Ruben Faria, Portugal, KTM, at 4:13:01

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.