8 Hours of Doha: BMP Elf 99 Wins Superpole

8 Hours of Doha Superpole Results

The BMP Elf 99 Racing Team has left absolutely no hope for the other contenders for the 8 Hours of Doha at Qatar on Saturday.

After leading all the practices, the BMW of BMP Elf 99 Racing Team finished the second day of qualifications by taking the best from the three Superpole sessions.

Sebastien Gimbert signed the best lap in 2:00.343. Only Sylvain Guintoli on the Suzuki GSX-R from Suzuki Endurance Racing Team managed to get close with a best lap in 2:00.862.

Sebastien Gimbert says: "I’m happy to be starting from pole position once again tomorrow; it’s the second time in a row for me and the third consecutive pole for the team."

"Endurance racing is truly a team sport and without the hard work of everyone in the team, including my two teammates, and the unstinting support of our partners – Elf, BMW and Michelin, pole position wouldn’t have been possible today. We’ve got a good set-up for the race and, with Erwan and Damian both on top form, I’m looking forward to a good result for the team tomorrow."

Yamaha Austria Racing Team took the third place with Steve Martin in 2’02.398, ahead of the surprising Honda RMT 21 with Arie Vos and the Yamaha X-One of Gianluca Vizziello.

The first Superstock bike is the Suzuki from Team Motor Events. With Baptiste Guittet, they will start from sixth position. In Superpole 3, they outclassed another Superstock machine, the BMW Andalucia, but mostly the Yamaha France GMT 94 Ipone, in eighth and last position of the Superpole 3 as Matthieu Lagrive crashed.

The very hot track in Losail, Qatar (nearly 40°C on the ground) is very challenging for the riders, the machines and the tyres.

Current Qtel FIM Endurance World Championship leader, Bolliger Team Switzerland, will leave only from fourteenth position. Since the beginning of this round, the private Swiss team is struggling with its chassis setup.

Current leader of the FIM Superstock World Cup, Qatar Endurance Racing Team, will start from eleventh position.

The race will start Saturday at 1 p.m. local time in Qatar (GMT + 3).

2010 8 Hours of Doha at Qatar Superpole Results (Top Five):

1. BMP Elf 99 Racing Team: BMW S1000RR, Class EWC.
Riders: Sebastien Gimbert, 2:00.769; Erwan Nigon, 2:01.675; Damian Cudlin, 2:01.274

2. Sert: Suzuki GSX-R1000, Class EWC
Riders: Vincent Phillipe, 2:01.077; Sylvain Gunitoli, 2:00.788; Freddy Foray Freddy, 2:03.141

3. Yart: Yamaha R1, Class EWC
Riders: Jerman Igor Jerman, 2:02.121; Steve Martin, 2:02.105; Gwen Giabbani, 2:02.533

4. RMT #21 Racing Team: Honda CBR 1000 RR, Class EWC
Riders: Viktor Kispataki, 2:04.434; Didier Van Keymeulen, 2:03.983; Arie Vos, 2:04.003

5. Team X-One: Yamaha R1, Class STK
Riders: Gianluca Vizziello, 2:03.416; Luca Bono, 2:08.707