2010 Mexico ISDE: France Takes Day 1

2010 ISDE Day 1 Results

The eighty-fifth edition of the FIM International Six Day Enduro (ISDE) got underway beneath clear blue skies with the sun burning hot overhead in Morelia, Mexico on Monday.

As the clock turned to eight hundred hours exactly, the first three ISDE riders left the starting ramp under the order of the state governor. From the hill top parc ferme, which boasts stunning panoramic views of the historic city of Morelia below, the ISDE riders headed off into the distance to start the first of six days of competition. Including nine special tests the opening day proved a challenging, and largely dry and dusty, one.

As expected it was France who topped the Trophy Team ISDE results at the end of the opening day’s competition. With their six-man team boasting E1 World champion Antoine Meo (Husqvarna), 2009 overall ISDE winner Christophe Nambotin (Gas Gas), and 2009 Enduro 2 World champion (KTM) they placed two-and-a-half minutes ahead of second placed team Italy.

Johnny Aubert (KTM) led the team during the opening day as he dominated the proceedings in the ISDE Enduro 2 class. Finishing one-minute ahead of his nearest competitor Aubert showed that he is going to be a force to be reckoned with during the event.

Three of the top four Enduro 2 class riders were French, with Rodrig Thain placing second and Nicolas Deparrois fourth – their combined results helping France start the event exactly as many expected them to. Antoine Meo finished as a close runner-up in the E1 class, with Seb Guillaume (Husqvarna) and Christophe Nambotin second and eighth respectively in E3.

Behind France it was Italy and Finland rounding out the top three. Team USA placed fourth ahead of Poland and Chile.

In the Junior Trophy Team ISDE category Spain took an early lead as they look to repeat their 2009 success. Helped massively by the performance of Oriol Mena (Husaberg) who was the fastest rider in the Enduro 3 class, the team finished close to two minutes ahead of Sweden. Another Spanish rider delivering a strong result was Victor Guerrero (Yamaha) in the Enduro 1 class.

Placing fifth and only twenty-seven seconds behind E1 winner Eero Remes, Victor was followed by countryman Mario Roman (KTM) who finished eleventh and as one of the highest placed two-stroke riders in the E1 class.

The ISDE team’s fourth member, Lorenzo Santolino (KTM), ended the opening day in twelfth in the E2 category. In following the Spanish team home Sweden delivered a strong, and somewhat unexpectedly impressive, start to the event. Third was France with Finland fourth and USA fifth.

Opening up a commanding lead at the head of the Women’s Cup was France. Last years winners finished over four minutes ahead of Germany with Ludivine Puy (Gas Gas) producing the fastest individual women’s performance. Third went to Sweden with USA fourth.

2010 ISDE, Morelia, Mexico: Day One Results

1. Eero Remes, Finland, KTM
2. Antoine Meo, France, Husqvarna
3. Alex Salvini, Italy, Husqvarna
4. Jari Mattila, Finland, Honda
5. Victor Guerrero, Spain, Yamaha

1. Johnny Aubert, France, KTM
2. Rodrig Thain, France, TM
3. Thomas Oldrati, Italy, KTM
4. Nicolas Deparrois, France, Kawasaki
5. Manuel Monni Italy, Yamaha

1. Oriol Mena, Spain, Husaberg
2. Sebastien Guillaume, France, Husqvarna
3. Bartosz Oblucki, Poland, Husqvarna
4. Homero Diaz, Mexico, KTM
5. Alessandro Beloimetti, Italy, KTM

World Trophy
1. France
2. Italy
3. Finland,
4. USA
5. Poland

Junior Trophy
1. Spain
2. Sweden
3. France
4. Finland
5. USA
6. Italy

Previous articlePortugal MotoGP: Bridgestone Tire Debrief
Next articleHonda debuts 2011 CB1000R
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).