News Motegi 125cc GP: Results

Motegi 125cc GP: Results

Motegi 125 GP Results

Marc Márquez took victory at Motegi in the 125cc Grand Prix of Japan on Sunday as he closed the gap on Championship leader Nico Terol – who finished the race in second position – to six points.

It was the Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider’s seventh win of the season, which came from his ninth pole position start of the year.

Traffic at the start of the race saw Jonas Folger (Team Ongetta) and Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing) crash out through no fault of their own as a coming together of bikes affected the duo.

The German youngster escaped with bruising to his left arm and Vázquez avoided injury as well, but was transferred to hospital for precautionary checks.

Avoiding the chaos at the head of the race were Terol, Márquez, Bradley Smith, Pol Espargaró and Sandro Cortese who all settled into a leading group of five, which itself became more dispersed as the race continued.

With 14 of the 20 laps completed Márquez had stretched to a lead of just over two seconds ahead of Terol, with Smith (Bancaja Aspar) riding a relatively lonely race in third position.

Young British rider Danny Kent, riding for the Lambretta Reparto Corse team and impressing by rising to 14th, then suffered the disappointment of crashing.

It was a fate that was also experienced by home rider Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany) who was running in fifth when he fell with two laps to go, managing to rejoin the race but finish down in 22nd.

There were no slip ups at the front however as Márquez crossed the line 2.612s clear to narrow the gap on Championship leader Terol, who finished second, with his team-mate Smith collecting a fourth podium of the season by placing third.

Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) placed fourth, but dropped to third in the championship standings, seven points adrift of Márquez.

Alberto Moncayo (Andalucia Cajasol) sealed an impressive fifth-placed finish for his best result to date.

125cc GP Results | Motegi, Sunday, October 03, 2010

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Red Bull Ajo Motorsport Derbi 144.8 39’46.937
2 20 40 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bancaja Aspar Team Aprilia 144.7 +2.612
3 16 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Bancaja Aspar Team Aprilia 144.3 +8.396
4 13 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti Racing Derbi 143.7 +18.873
5 11 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 142.9 +31.973
6 10 12 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX Aprilia 142.9 +32.139
7 9 99 Danny WEBB GBR Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 142.0 +46.716
8 8 39 Luis SALOM SPA Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 141.9 +49.444
9 7 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Aeroport de Castello – Ajo Aprilia 141.9 +49.867
10 6 14 Johann ZARCO FRA WTR San Marino Team Aprilia 141.5 +55.912
11 5 35 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 141.5 +56.684
12 4 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Avant Mitsubishi Ajo Derbi 141.5 +56.738
13 3 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Fontana Racing Aprilia 140.9 +1’05.988
14 2 78 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Interwetten Honda 125 Honda 140.7 +1’10.339
15 1 53 Jasper IWEMA NED CBC Corse Aprilia 140.7 +1’10.518
16 88 Hikari OOKUBO JPN 18 Garage Racing Team Honda 140.1 +1’21.138
17 43 Takehiro YAMAMOTO JPN Team Nobby Honda 140.1 +1’21.153
18 69 Louis ROSSI FRA CBC Corse Aprilia 140.0 +1’21.403
19 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia – Sepang Int. Circuit Aprilia 139.8 +1’25.015
20 42 Syunya MORI JPN Racing Sayama Honda 139.8 +1’25.186
21 91 Sasuke SHINOZAKI JPN Team Tec2 Yamaha 139.8 +1’26.406
22 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Racing Team Germany Aprilia 139.0 +1’40.734
23 87 Luca MARCONI ITA Ongetta Team Aprilia 137.3 1 Lap
24 89 Yuma YAHAGI JPN Endurance Honda 137.3 1 Lap
Not Classified
52 Danny KENT GBR Lambretta Reparto Corse Lambretta 140.6 9 Laps
32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 137.4 12 Laps
84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Racing Team Germany Aprilia 126.9 17 Laps
96 Tommaso GABRIELLI ITA Ongetta Team Aprilia 112.4 19 Laps
Not Starting
50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR AirAsia – Sepang Int. Circuit Aprilia 0 Lap
7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Tuenti Racing Derbi 0 Lap
94 Jonas FOLGER GER Ongetta Team Aprilia 0 Lap

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...