Motorcycle Types Cruiser AMA XR1200 Racing | 2010 Points

AMA XR1200 Racing | 2010 Points

XR1200 Final Results

The final round of the inaugural AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson XR1200 Series season was run at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama with former MotoGP rider, Jeremy McWilliams taking the win amid challenging wet weather conditions at the track on Sunday.

McWilliams, who clinched the XR1200 Trophy in the UK this season, was able to come across the pond to contest the final round of the AMA Pro XR1200 Series thanks to his sponsors in England, Warr’s Harley-Davidson along with the HOG Racing Team and here in the US.

Despite being his first time on the US spec XR1200 and his first time racing at Barber, the Ulsterman was able to put his formidable skills for racing in the rain to work taking the win in dramatic fashion.

Also contesting the XR1200 for the first time this weekend was AMA Pro veteran Michael Barnes, who put on the best challenge to McWilliams in the rain, closing the gap to under a half second near the middle of the race.

Barnes, whose history of road racing Harleys goes back to the VR1000 days, stepped in to ride the Jones Brothers XR1200 for the final round of the season.

Rounding out the podium, 17-year-old flat track and up-and-coming road race star, PJ Jacobsen, put in another fine ride after scoring his first pole position in qualifying on Saturday in only his second appearance on the XR1200.

Richie Morris Racing’s Danny Eslick will be named the champion for the inaugural season of the AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Series, with three thrilling consecutive wins in the opening three rounds.

AMA XR1200 | Final Rider Standings (2010)

Pos Rider(s) Total Points 05 06 08 09 10 Total Wins
1 Danny Eslick 96 1*# 1*# 1*# 3
2 Travis Wyman 88 5 8 2 3 8 0
3 Jake Holden 67 2 3 3 8 10 0
4 Paul James 62 10 7 5 5 5 0
5 P. J. Jacobsen 54 1*# 3# 1
6 Joseph Rozynski 50 7 4 4 11 0
7 Matthew Heidel 44 6 7 6 0
8 Eric Stump 37 3 5 7 0
9 Kyle Wyman 36 4 4 9 9 0
10 Jeremy McWilliams 31 1* 1
11 John Ashmead 27 9 6 0
12 Michael Corbino 27 6 9 0
13 Michael Barnes 25 2 0
14 Steve Atlas 25 2 0
15 Shawn Higbee 25 2 0
16 Robert Tinagero 18 4 0
17 Shawn Conrad 15 6 0
18 Paul Schwemmer 14 7 0
19 Aaron Frank 13 8 0
20 Mark Cernicky 0 8 0


* Lap Leader

# Best Qualifier

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally First Look (12 Fast Facts)

There is going to be a 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally, in Europe, at least. We’re getting our first look at these two...

2021 KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

Every autumn, like Charlie Brown in the pumpkin patch, we await the arrival of the KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition. Well, we're getting our...

Lieback’s Lounge: Winter Romance in the Basement

I love the holidays, but there’s one element that destroys "the most wonderful time of the year," and that's "The Vanishing of the Motorcycles."

The Comprehensive Vintage Motorcycle Price Guide: 2020-2021 Edition [Review]

The Comprehensive Vintage Motorcycle Price Guide: 2020-2021 Edition is a worthy resource for classic and vintage motorcycle lovers.

2021 Isle of Man TT Canceled [Classic GP Still On So Far]

The Pandemic of 2020 has not only caused the cancelation of the 2020 Isle of Man TT. On Monday, the Isle of Man Government...

2021 World Superbike Schedule First Look: 13-Round WSBK Calendar

The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is now public, and it is planned to be a 13-round affair. Government restrictions in reaction to...