Motorcycle Racing News AMA to Honor 2010 Motorcycle Champs

AMA to Honor 2010 Motorcycle Champs

AMA Pro Racing

Following a season of spectacular road racing at some of America’s finest circuits, the AMA Pro Road Racing community gathered on Monday evening for the season-ending awards banquet at the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum to honor the 2010 AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike, Daytona SportBike presented by AMSOIL, SuperSport and Vance & Hines XR1200 Series champions.

In National Guard SuperBike, Team Graves Yamaha rider Josh Hayes claimed three poles (Infineon Raceway, Road America and Mid-Ohio), seven victories (Infineon Raceway Races One and Two, Road America Race One, Mid-Ohio Race One, VIR Race Two and New Jersey Races One and Two) and led 222 laps to top Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Tommy Hayden for the rider championship, 466-452, and give Yamaha their first AMA Pro SuperBike championship in over a decade.

The additional strength of Blake Young over the course of the season boosted Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s total team points over the Graves Yamaha team, giving them and Suzuki the team and manufacturer championships, respectively.

M4 Monster Energy Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas led the Daytona SportBike presented by AMSOIL field, finishing with 405 points, eight more than GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki rider Danny Eslick’s 397 tallies.

Cardenas accumulated an impressive nine wins (Auto Club Race One, Road Atlanta Races One and Two, Infineon Race One, Road America Race Two, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, New Jersey Race One and Barber Races One and Two) and led 95 laps in his march to the top.

Graves Yamaha’s formidable combination of Josh Herrin and Tommy Aquino awarded them the team championship, with Suzuki taking the manufacturer’s championship on the strength of Cardenas’ and Eslick’s finishes.

The SuperSport West Division championship was claimed by Joey Pascarella, who claimed two poles (Daytona, Auto Club) and three wins (Daytona Race Two, Auto Club Races One and Two) and finished the season with 197 points over second place Elena Myers.

In SuperSport East, JD Beach exerted dominance over the field, earning two poles (Mid-Ohio, VIR) and seven victories (Road Atlanta Races One and Two, Road America Race One, Mid-Ohio Races One and Two and VIR Races One and Two) to give him 265 points over second place Huntley Nash’s 223 points.

The Young Gun and Top Gun National Championships were determined at Barber Motorsports Park using moto-style scoring and went to Austin DeHaven and Tyler O’Hara, respectively.

The inaugural Vance & Hines XR1200 Series crown was claimed by none other than Eslick, who earned three poles, three victories and led 40 laps in only three starts to finish the season with 96 points, eight points over second place Tyler Wyman.

All of AMA Pro Racing’s 2010 race results and championship standings are final and official, and those official results and final points can be found at and PDF results can be located at

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...