Custom Bike Building Champs: 2010

Custom Motorcycles

Freddie ‘Krugger’ Bertrand is now wearing the World Champions’ ring after being named the 2010 AMD World Championship of Custom Bike Building.

The motorcycle with which he claimed the title was built for Veon Motorcycle’s owner Peer Toftner and features a unique electronically adjustable frame system developed by Peer.

At the flick of a switch the V-Rod engined bike can be transformed from a low-riding cruiser with long rake to sport bike mode with a shorter wheelbase and steeper rake. The radical machine even has two sets of foot controls to match each style of riding.

Krugger’s win in the Championship follows on from third places in both 2004 and 2005, a 13th place in 2008 and another third last year.

The highest placed domestic builder for 2010 is second placed Mark Daley of Thunder Struck Cycles. His placing reflects the level of engineering involved in the building of the engine in his entry – Sniper.

The Indian Powerplus motor used in the bike has had the inlet and outlet ports reversed with the heads welded and machined to allow the correct sized valves to be operated by the reverse grind cam.

For the first time in the Championship’s history a builder from Belarus brought a bike to Sturgis and was duly rewarded with third place for his efforts.

Yuri Shif, the proprietor of Yuri Shif Customs took inspiration from German ’30s race cars for the styling of his long, low bike and then took the German influence even further by joining two early BMW Boxer engines at the cranks.

Not satisfied with the engineering needed to achieve that feat he then reversed the rear pair of heads to allow him to feed all four inlet ports via a supercharger.

Having already placed in the top three in the Freestyle Class at the 2010 World Championship of Custom Bike Building it became a double celebration for Yuri Shif when he was called to the stage to receive the Metric World Champion’s trophy too, having won the class by a clear margin.

The European domination of the results sheet continued with Sergio Bayarri, of Sbay Motor Company claiming the win in the Production Manufacturer class with his race inspired Flying, The bike, which replicates Ducati geometry has been developed and tested on European race track and the tires show the strain of hard riding on the track.

With support from Harley-Davidson and a Screamin’ Eagle motor being awarded to the winner, the competition in the Modified Harley class was the stiffest ever seen in the events history, and once again it was a European builder that triumphed.

Shaw Harley-Davidson’s Strike True II polled the votes in the judging and saw the trophy heading to the UK, another first in the show’s seven-year history.

Freestyle Class – Results
1st    Krugger Motorcycles    Veon    Basse Bodeux    Belgium    Fred Krugger
2nd    Thunderstruck Custom Bikes    Sniper    Medford, OR    USA    Mark Daley
3rd    Yuri Shif Custom (YSC)    The Machine    Minsk    Belarus    Yuri Shif
4th    Garage65    Kcosmodrive    Viareggio (LU)    Italy    Marco Cinquini
5th    Speed Shop Design    Beezerker    Seattle, WA    USA    Chris Flechtner
6th    Blech & Drueber    Walton    Rohr im Burgenland    Austria    Bernhard Naumann & Martin Lagler
7th    Hardly Civilized    Quantum Leap    Greensboro, NC    USA    Eddie Alexander Meeks
8th    Cook Customs    Norton    Milwaukee, WI    USA    Dave Cook
9th    Fine Custom Mechanics    Moscow    Moscow    Russian Federation    Sergey Maltsev
10th    Speed Dept & Mayhem Kustomz    Energicer    Aesch/BL    Switzerland    Speed Dept & Mayhem Kustomz

Modified Harley-Davidson Class sponsored by Harley-Davidson – Results
1st    Shaw Harley-Davidson    Strike True II    Holmes Hill, East Sussex    UK    Shaw Speed and Custom
2nd    Cooper Smithing Co    The Jefferson    Buckley, WA    USA    Joe Cooper
3rd    Hardninechoppers    D’MX    Bern    Switzerland    Danny Schneider

Production Manufacturer Class sponsored by ACCEL Motorcycle Products – Results
1st    Sbay Motor Co    Flying    Sotogrande, Cadiz    Spain    Sergio Bayarri
2nd    Darwin Motorcycles    Brawler GTR    Oklahoma City, OK    USA    Dar, Tim, Bryan
3rd    Kiwi Indian MotorCycle Co    Kiwi Indian Factory Board Tracker    Riverside, CA    USA    Kiwi Indian M/C Co, Travis Bonde, Mike Tomas

Metric World Championship – Results
1st    Yuri Shif Custom (YSC)    The Machine    Minsk    Belarus    Yuri Shif
2nd    Speed Shop Design    Beezerker    Seattle, WA    USA    Chris Flechtner
3rd    Blech & Drueber    Walton    Rohr im Burgenland    Austria    Bernhard Naumann & Martin Lagler

Photography credit: Studio bike shots by Horst Roesler and Frank Sander; Stage photography by Duncan Moore 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.