AMA Road Racing… Friday Qualifying Results

Superbike Fontana

Aaron Yates and Danny Eslick recorded top speeds in the AMA Pro American SuperBike and Daytona SportBike classes Friday at Auto Club Speedway in the opening day of competition of the Suzuki AMA Pro SuperBike Challenge.

Yates, who finished fourth in the season-opening races in Daytona three weeks ago in American SuperBike, rode his Jordan Suzuki GSX-R1000 to the top position with a time of 1:23.982. This is the second round of the AMA’s 2010 motorcycle racing series.

Aaron Yates

"I want to be focused and just do the best job I can," Yates said. "The guys are working really hard to get the bike ready. We are working on couple of different things. I was going a little better on one of the bikes."

Rounding out the top five AMA Pro American SuperBike riders are Tommy Hayden riding his Rockstar Makita Suzuki GSX-R1000 (1:24.133), Foremost Insurance Pegram Racing’s Larry Pegram (1:24.150), John Hopkins on his M4 Monster Energy Suzuki GSX-R1000 (1:24.190) and Blake Young on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki GSX-R1000 (1:24.227).

Eslick on his GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki GSX-R600 posted the top time for the day in AMA Pro Daytona SportBike with a time of 1:27.164. He is looking to achieve the same feat as last year at Auto Club Speedway when he won both AMA Daytona SportBike races.

The rest of the top-five included Josh Herrin on his Team Graves Yamaha YZF-R6 (1:27.255), Tommy Aquino on the Team Graves Yamaha YZF-R6 (1:27.457), Team Latus Motors Racing’s Steve Rapp (1:27.515) and Martin Cardenas on his M4 Monster Energy Suzuki GSX-R600 (1:27.560).

Young talent in the SuperSport motorcycle racing class showed their skills as they raced against expert licensed local riders. Joey Pascarella topped the riders on his Yamaha YZF-R6 (1:29.310), followed by Scott Gilbert (1:30.188), Huntley Nash (1:31.393), Elena Myers (1:31.573) and Charles Strong (1:33.998).

Qualifying and Race 1, for each class, will continue at Auto Club Speedway located in Fontana California on Saturday beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Top 10 results of Friday’s qualifying in all three classes show finishing position, name, motorcycle and time completed around the 2.36-mile, 21- turn road course.

AMA Pro American SuperBike: 1. Aaron Yates (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:23.982; 2. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:24.133; 3. Larry Pegram (Ducati 1098R), 1:24.150; 4. John Hopkins (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:24.190; 5. Blake Young (Suzuki GSX-1000R), 1:24.227; 6. Josh Hayes (Yamaha YZF-R1), 1:24.360; 7. Jake Holden (Honda CBR1000RR), 1:24.392; 8. Ben Bostrom (Yamaha YZF-R1), 1:24.791; 9. Jake Zemke (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:25.228; 10. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:25.270.

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike: 1. Danny Eslick (Suzuki GSX-R600), 1:27.164; 2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:27.255; 3. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha YZF-R6 ), 1:27.457; 4. Steve Rapp (Ducati 848), 1:27.515; 5. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki GSX-R600), 1:27.560; 6. Dane Wesby (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:27.604; 7. Cory West (Suzuki GSX-R600), 1:28.160; 8. Clinton Seller (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:28.878; 9. Bobby Fong (Ducati 848), 1:29.416; 10. Chris Fillmore (Suzuki GSX-R600), 1:29.496.

AMA SuperSport: 1. Joey Pascarella (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:29.310; 2. Scott Gilbert (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:30.188; 3. Huntley Nash (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:31.393; 4. Elena Myers (Suzuki GSX-R600), 131.573; 5. Charles Strong (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:33.998; 6. Chris Sromalla (Suzuki GSX-R600), 1:34.792; 7. Michael Corbino (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:35.2000; 8. Eric Stump (Honda CBR600RR), 1:35.452; 9. Paul-Michael Patterson (Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R), 1:35.638; 10. Robert Tinagero (Yamaha YZF-R6), 1:35.708.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.