2010 Amateur National Arenacross Championships

Feld Motor Sports announced today that the Amateur National Arenacross Championships will undergo a variety of enhancements beginning with the 2009 race at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas October 11.

At this year’s Amateur National Arenacross Championships, each of the respective class champions will be recognized as an official AMA National Champion and awarded the ceremonial AMA National Champion Number One Plate. To recognize the 2010 AMA Amateur National Arenacross Champions, the AMA will host these distinguished racers from each class at its annual, year-end award ceremony in Las Vegas.

"We are very proud with the addition of the AMA National Championship to this year’s Amateur Arenacross," said Jayme Dalsing, director of arenacross, Feld Motor Sports. This brings added prestige to the championship and will allow Arenacross to expand in the coming years."

In 2010, the Amateur National Arenacross Championships will be moved to Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium on May 9, the day after the Monster Energy® Supercross Finals conclude. With the large number of competitors making their way to Las Vegas each year, the National Championships has outgrown the arena settings of the MGM Grand Garden Arena and will move to the much larger Sam Boyd Stadium. This will give the championship qualifiers a chance to race on the same track as the top supercross riders in the world such as James Stewart and Chad Reed.

The top four qualifying riders from each of the five regions (North, South, Central, East and West) will earn positions in the 2010 Amateur National Arenacross Championships. The Amateur National Arenacross Championships provide a solid foundation for aspiring riders to develop their skills in a stadium setting.

Also new to the 2009 Amateur National Arenacross Championships is an opportunity for the top eight finishing riders in the Expert Class to receive an AMA Supercross Lites endorsement. The AMA Supercross Lites class endorsement grants these riders the opportunity to compete in the 2011 Monster Energy® Supercross Lites championship.