Husqvarna Motocross: Jason Anderson Breaks Collarbone in Practice Crash

Jason Anderson crash breaks collarbone
Jason Anderson

Jason Anderson Motocross Crash News

Jason Anderson crash breaks collarbone
Jason Anderson

During last weekend’s High Point Motocross National in Pennsylvania, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson earned the best finish of his outdoor MX career – second overall.

But this performance was later marred by some bad news. While practicing for this weekend’s Muddy Creek MX National in Tennessee, Anderson crashed, sustaining a broken collarbone. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing says Anderson broke his collarbone (clavicle) in three spots, with a minor acromioclavicular joint separation.

Visit the Ultimate MotorCycling Motocross Page

Anderson will undergo treatment, and due to the severity of the multiple fractures, Anderson will be out for six-eight weeks.

“I’m really bummed about this injury. I feel like I was building some momentum and last weekend’s 2nd was the best outdoor overall of my career. I feel pretty lucky however after one of the worst crashes of my life and not missing a race in 6 years. Sometimes these things happen. I can only stay positive and see how the recovery goes. I’m hoping to come back before the Nationals are over,” says Anderson.

“Unfortunately, injuries are a part of our sport and you never want to see any rider on any team get hurt.  Jason has spent his entire pro career with me and this is his first injury that will keep him out of competition in six years.  Considering the severity of the crash we feel fortunate it is only the collar bone which will require surgery and a minor AC separation; that according to his doctors will heal on its own over the coming weeks,” said Team Manager, Bobby Hewitt.

Husky will not appoint a substitute rider for Muddy Creek, but all other team members – riders Zach Osborne, Martin Davalos, and Christophe Pourcel – will ride.

In 2016 Monster Energy Supercross, Anderson finished third overall behind Suzuki’s Ken Roczen and the champion, KTM’s Ryan Dungey.