2016 Isle of Man Senior TT Results | Anyone See BMW’s Dunlop?

2016 Isle of Man Senior TT Results | Anyone See BMW's Dunlop?
BMW's Michael Dunlop

2016 Isle of Man Senior TT Results

2016 Isle of Man Senior TT Results | Anyone See BMW's Dunlop?
BMW’s Michael Dunlop

Save the best for last – this adage never spoke such truth like it did at the final race of the 2016 Isle of Man TT.

With a balls-forward mindset, Hawk Racing BMW’s Michael Dunlop smoothly rolled the S1000RR wrecking ball along the 37.73-mile Mountain Course during the 2016 Pokerstars Senior TT.

The Northern Irishman would retain the lead throughout the six-lap race, and earn his 13th TT victory by 31.4 seconds ahead of fellow BMW S1000RR pilot Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW). Earning third was Honda Racing’s John McGuinness, the 23-time TT winner not adding any wins to his record this year.

These results mirrored the opening race of the 2016 IOMTT – the RST SuperbikeTT. Dunlop demolished records in that TT, but did additional damage during Friday’s Senior TT. Dunlop, the nephew of the late Joey Dunlop, who holds the record of 26 TT wins, set a new official outright lap record of 133.962mph.

Dunlop was without a doubt the literbike star at the 2016 IOMTT, but so was the actual bike; besides earning 1-2 results in both the Senior and RST Superbike TTs, the S1000RR finished 1-2 in all Superbike practices but one. It should be noted that Hutchinson also dominated the RL360 Superstock TT aboard his Tyco BMW superstock S1000RR.

As for the American Mark Miller on the Splitlath EBR, he retired after the opening lap. Miller said on social media: “Our motor had a vibration didn’t sound right and lacked power so pulled into the pits after one lap. I revved it a few times for our lead mechanic and he agreed it didn’t sound right. I rode the first lap hard but with my left hand over the clutch lever which had me missing braking markers and turn-in points which also made it difficult to concentrate.”

2016 Senior TT Results – Race Recap

BMW's Ian Hutchinson at 2016 Senior TT
BMW’s Ian Hutchinson

After morning delays due to the typical Irish Sea mist that engulfs parts of the Isle of Man, the Senior TT got underway at 3:45 p.m. local time. By Glen Helen on the opening lap, Dunlop was already in maniac mode, having a 1.8 second lead over 14-time TT winner Hutchinson – who had earned three TTs this year – and Silicone Engineering Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R pilot Dean Harrison.

In tow were East Coast Construction BMW’s Lee Johnston, Team Penz.13 BMW’s Gary Johnson, and GBmoto Racing Kawasaki’s Peter Hickman.

By the time of the famed jump at Ballaugh Bridge, Hutchy had closed, and Johnson moved to third. Storming from behind, though, were two Hondas – the RC213V-S piloted by Valovline Racing by Padgett’s Motorcycles Bruce Anstey and the CBR1000RR SP Fireblade piloted by the “Morecambe Missile” McGuinness.

The former outright record holder McGuinness was on a complete tear, moving from ninth to fourth by the end of the second lap. That second lap was also Dunlop’s record lap of the IOM TT Senior TT. Hutchinson was in a comfortable second, but Hickman retired at Brandyweell, moving Anstey to third.

By the time McGuinness got to Glen Helen on lap three, he reduced his deficit to Anstey by 6.7 seconds. Behind, Johnson retired at Appledene, and Norton’s David Johnson slid off the road at Sulby Bridge; David, who posted a 130mph lap his first time around, was not injured.

Halfway through the race, Dunlop had stretched his lead to 11.2 seconds ahead of Hutchinson, and McGuinness was past Anstey for third. Behind, Harrison was holding on to fifth while McGuinness’ teammate Conor Cummins moved into sixth.

Honda's John McGuinness at 2016 Isle of Man TT Senior TT
Honda’s John McGuinness

For the final pit stop two-thirds of the way, Dunlop’s team got him in and out quickly, and he put the hammer down. Dunlop eventually overhauled Hutchy and McGuinness on the final lap to finish 31.4 seconds ahead of Hutchinson.

McGuinness claimed third – his 46th career TT podium. Harrison was able to retain fourth, finishing ahead of Anstey and Cummins. Rounding out the top 10 were Bathmans SMT Racing BMW’s Michael Rutter, East Coast Construction BMW’s Lee Johnston, Quattor Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki’s James Hillier, and Devitt RC Express Racing Kawasaki’s Ivan Lintin.

Following the 2016 Senior TT, Hutchinson, who had already clinched the Joey Dunlop TT Championship trophy after his Monster Energy Supersport 2 victory, finished with week off with 115 points. Harrison earned second with 80, and Dunlop third with 70.

Fan Hegarty was the first privateer to finish in 11th, allowing him to clinch the TT Privateer’s Championship with 91 points to Jamie Coward’s 72.

Now to wait for another year. Will BMW be able to dominate once again? And who will break the new target of 134mph lap time? The countdown for the 2017 Isle of Man TT begins…

Photos by Wayne Freestone

2016 Isle of Man Senior TT Results – Photo Gallery