Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2016 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock Results | Hutchy Strikes Again!

2016 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock Results | Hutchy Strikes Again!

2016 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock Results

2016 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock Results | Hutchy Strikes Again!
BMW’s Ian Hutchinson

The BMW S1000RR has dominated since the 2016 Isle of Man TT began, the Bavarian inline-four leading all Superbike and Superstock practice/qualifying sessions.

The RR’s strength continued during the opening race of the 2016 Isle of Man TT – Saturday’s RST Superbike TT. Hawk Racing BMW’s Michael Dunlop shattered both the lap and overall race time records, the Northern Irishman total TTs now up to 12.

Dunlop’s Superstock MD Racing BMW S1000RR was equally as strong as his Hawk Racing BMW, but luck wasn’t on his side during Monday’s RL360 Quantum Superstock TT. While in second, Dunlop experienced a broken transmission gear lever. He was forced to not finish; earlier in the day during the Monster Energy Supersport 1 race, Dunlop had originally finished second, but was disqualified due to technical infringement.

Dunlop was a threat, but not nearly as vicious as the man who won Monday’s Superstock TT – Ian Hutchinson. “Hutchy,” who also earned a record-breaking win during the afternoon’s Monster Energy Supersport 1 race (CAME EPT Yamaha YZF-R6), claimed the Superstock victory aboard his Tyco BMW, which also topped Superstock qualifying.

Want more? Visit Ultimate MotorCycling’s Isle of Man TT page.

Kawasaki's Dean Harrison at RL360 Superstock TT 2016
Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison

Hutchinson earned his 13th-career TT by 27 seconds ahead of Silicone Engineering Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison. Earning the final podium position by just a second behind Harrison was Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki’s James Hillier.

Hutchinson’s first lap was 133.098mph – clear ahead of last year’s outright lap record set by John McGuinness (Honda Racing CBR1000RR, Senior TT), and faster than his S1000RR in the RST Superbike TT. Hutchinson continued to put distance on the grid, earning over two seconds after the first of four laps.

After Dunlop’s lever issues, Hillier was on the move followed by Harrison, Team BMW’s Gary Johnson, and East Coast Construction BMW’s Lee Johnston.

With Dunlop out, Hutchinson now had a 24-second advantage over Hillier, and his lead increased to 32.7 seconds after posting a 132.93mph second lap! Harrison remained in third, followed by Johnston, Batham’s SMT Racing BMW’s Michael Rutter, and Team BMW’s Gary Johnson. Unfortunately, Valvoline Racing by Padgett’s Motorcycle’s Bruce Anstey (RC213V-S) and GMmoto Racing Kawasaki’s Peter Hickman were forced to retired.

Also having trouble was Devitt RC Express Racing Kawasaki’s Ivan Lintin, who suffered a pit-lane speeding penalty, dropping him back a few places.

With a dominating lead, Hutchinson was able to control the Superstock TT, and not worry about outright speeds. He went on to win after two “slower” laps just over 129mph.

The battle for second intensified between Hillier and Harrison, with the latter able to capitalize on his Ninja ZX-10R’s performance. Hillier would finish third, ahead of Rutter and Johnson.

Honda's John McGuinness at Superstock TT 2016
Honda’s John McGuinness

As for 23-time TT winner John McGuinness, the “Morecambe Missile” finished sixth aboard his BET Victor Honda CBR1000RR SP Fireblade.

Rounding out the top 10 were Conor Cummins (Valvoline Racing by Padgett’s Motorcycles Honda); MSS Colchester Kawasaki’s William Dunlop; Fleetwood Grab Services BMW’s David Johnson and Jackson Racing Honda’s Steve Mercer.

As for America’s Mark Miller, the Splitlath EBR pilot finished 23rd.

With his second TT win of 2016 Isle of Man TT, Hutchinson has now moved to the top of the race for the Joey Dunlop Championship with 70 points. Harrison moved to second with 47 points, and Michael Dunlop is third with 45.

The IOM TT reports that Dan Hegarty was again the top privateer in an excellent 11th place. Horst Saiger was the second privateer home in 13th overall with Jamie Coward third and 14th overall. Hegarty leads the overall privateers table with 50, followed by Coward with 47 and Saiger with 46.

The grid takes a break Tuesday ahead of Wednesday’s schedule (all local time):

  • 10:45 a.m. – Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 2 (4 laps)
  • 12:25 a.m. – Sidecar qualifying (1 lap)
  • 2 p.m. – Bennetts Lightweight TT Race (4 laps)
  • 3:45 p.m. – Senior TT qualifying (1 lap)
  • 4:20 p.m. – TT Zero Race (1 lap)

Photos by Wayne Freestone

2016 Isle of Man TT RL360 Quantum Superstock TT Results – Photo Gallery

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Helmet Use by U.S. Motorcyclists Trends Higher in Past Decade

Could the availability of better helmet options be part of the reason? According to the U. S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration...

Editor’s Letter: A Very Merry Christmas When I Became An ‘Authentic Motorcyclist’

At the end, my parents handed me a small package. I opened it up, and it was a little booklet. It had pictures of a motorcycle.

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...