Worry No More – 2015 Daytona 200 is Back On!

Triumph's Danny Eslick Ready for 2015 Daytona 200
2014 Daytona 200 winner - Danny Eslick
Triumph's Danny Eslick Ready for 2015 Daytona 200
2014 Daytona 200 winner – Danny Eslick

2015 Daytona 200

When Daytona International Speedway (DIS) and America’s new road-racing series MotoAmerica could not arrive at an agreement to hold the 74th Daytona 200, much worry evolved.

But that worry was laid to rest Monday when DIS reported it had reached an agreement with American SportBike Racing Association (ASRA) to hold the 74th edition of the Daytona 200.

America’s ultimate endurance road race is set for 1 p.m Saturday, March 14, on the 3.51-mile road course (57 laps), DIS Track President Joie Chitwood reported Monday.

Before the MotoAmerica takeover of North America’s road racing, it was announced that the former AMA SuperBike class would return to the Daytona 200 grid – something that didn’t occur since the former Formula Xtreme and Daytona SportBike classes took over the reins in 2005.

But the 2015 riders battling for the $175,000 purse will once again compete on 600cc machinery, Chitwood reports.

“The tradition of the DAYTONA 200 spans both the sands of Daytona Beach and the high banks of the Speedway and we’re excited about continuing this historic event with the American Sportbike Racing Association,” Chitwood says.

“With a competitive purse and a Rolex Cosmograph Daytona at stake, riders will have plenty of incentive as they compete for a coveted Daytona victory.”

The roots of the Daytona 200 can be traced back to the sands of Daytona Beach with Ed Kretz Sr. winning the inaugural event back in 1937 aboard an Indian. The Daytona 200 moved to Daytona International Speedway in 1961.

Triumph rider Danny Eslick dominated the 2014 Daytona 200. Eslick became the first rider to win the Daytona 200 aboard a Triumph since the late Gary Nixon in 1967, and joined a long list of motorcycle legends that have conquered the grueling race including five-time winner Scott Russell, Miguel Duhamel, Mat Mladin, Kenny Roberts and Dick Klamforth.

Besides the Daytona 200, ASRA and the Championship Cup Series (CCS) will have a full complement of road races Thursday, March 12, through Sunday, March 15. Daytona 200 qualifying will take place on Friday, March 13 with the race going green the following day at 1 p.m.

ASRA and CCS are traditionally part of the Fall Cycle Scene motorcycle schedule at Daytona International Speedway. CCS was founded in 1984 and has become the leader in sportsman level motorcycle road racing offering unrivalled competition at nationwide venues. ASRA started administering CCS in 2006, DIS reports.

“To say that ASRA is excited to be a part of the DAYTONA 200 is an understatement,” said Kevin Elliott, President of ASRA. “There is no other motorcycle event in the United States that comes close to the prestige of the DAYTONA 200 and we’re honored to keep the tradition alive in 2015.”

For additional information, visit Daytona International Speedway.