Motorcycle Racing News 2014 Daytona 200 Results | Triumph's Danny Eslick Takes the Win

2014 Daytona 200 Results | Triumph’s Danny Eslick Takes the Win

2014 Daytona 200 Race Results

In 1967, Gary Nixon took the Daytona 200 win aboard a Triumph Daytona. But that would be the final time the British brand was victorious at the famed race. Until today.

Piloting the Riders Discount Racing Triumph 675, Oklahoma’s Danny Eslick took the 2014 Daytona 200 win. Eslick put in a dominating performance at the 73rd running of the Daytona 200; starting from the pole, he led 44 of 57 laps to take the win.

The No. 69 rider finished 10.975 seconds ahead of RoadRace Factory Red Bull Yamaha’s Jake Gagne. Taking the final podium position was Yamaha’s Jake Lewis.

“It’s awesome,” Eslick said. “I’ve gotten the pole before. My very first 200 I got fourth. There’s been a lot of hard work and a lot of years have passed by to get this victory. It means a lot.”

It wasn’t a runaway win, though. Throughout the race, “Slick” fought off many charges by Gagne, Castrol/Sportbike Track Time’s Jason Disalvo and Yamalube/Westby Racing Yamaha’s Dane Westby. The four immediately broke away from the remaining 37 riders, and ran in tight formation out front.

But just ahead of the second fuel stop on lap 38, Westby crashed. Disalvo swerved to avoid contact, and he was immediately put out of contention.

Eslick says one key to winning was the quick pitstops, which changed for 2014 Daytona 200; each rider had to get off the bike when refueling.

Pit stops for the Daytona 200 are the most important thing,” Eslick said. “You can’t have bad stops and we had great pit stops.”

After taking the checkered flag, Eslick put on an enthusiastic celebration that included a victory lap with the checkered flag.

“This one was pretty nerve-wracking,” Eslick said. “This is one of the biggest races in the world. Obviously the biggest one I’ve ever won. Laguna Seca was pretty special a couple of years ago. But anything involved with Daytona is pretty incredible. This trophy is going to sit up loud and proud right in the middle of my house.

“Hats off to the crew. (Crew chief) Richard Stanboli is the guy I worked with like ten years ago in my first year in the AMA. So in a big, roundabout way, this is payback for that first year.

“It’s awesome. I’ve gotten the pole before and, my very first 200, I got fourth. So there’s been a lot of hard work and a lot of years passed by to get this victory. It really means a lot. There’s been a lot going on at home, losing people close to me. This one is for Tommy Aquino and some good friends from home. So it means a lot.”

Taking fourth, 48.659 seconds behind Eslick, was Latus Motors Racing’s Bobby Fong aboard another Triumph 675. Y.E.S./Monster Energy/Graves Yamaha’s Garrett Gerloff came back from a crash to finish fifth.

Kyle Wyman finished sixth aboard his Kyle Wyman Racing Yamaha, and was followed by British rider Luke Stapleford aboard the Profile Racing Triumph 675 and GEICO Honda’s Jake Zemke.

The 2014 Daytona 200 is a huge part of history since it will be the last time the race will run 600cc machines. Next year, the literbikes return to the grid.

2014 Daytona 200 Results:

  1. Danny Eslick, Triumph 675
  2. Jake Gagne, Yamaha YZF-R6
  3. Jake Lewis, Yamaha YZF-R6
  4. Bobby Fong, Triumph 675
  5. Garrett Gerloff, Yamaha YZF-R6
  6. Kyle Wyman, Yamaha YZF-R6
  7. Luke Stapleford, Triumph 675
  8. Jake Zemke, Honda CBR600RR
  9. Bostjian Skubic, Yamaha YZF-R6
  10. Steve Rapp, Triumph YZF-R6
  11. Joe Roberts, Honda CBR600RR
  12. Joey Pascarella, Yamaha YZF-R6
  13. Luke Mossey, Yamaha YZF-R6
  14. Fernando Amantini, Yamaha YZF-R6
  15. Kenny Riedmann, Triumph 675


2019 MV Agusta UNICEF F3 800: One-of-a-Kind For Charity

2019 MV Agusta UNICEF F3 800: Charity Build If you blinked, you missed it. MV Agusta built this one-off F3 800 for UNICEF Italia and...

2019 Budds Creek Motocross National Results and Coverage (9 Fast Facts)

2019 Budds Creek Motocross National Results: Tomac’s Perfect Day With one round remaining in the 2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross National Championship Series, Eli Tomac...

2019 Vertigo Dougie Lampkin Replica First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2019 Vertigo Dougie Lampkin Replica Trials Motorcycle It is getting to be a regular thing with Vertigo—a boutique Spanish observed trials manufacturer—late in the year...

Motorcycle Workbench Workout: Facing the Trash, Finding Some Treasure

Top 14 Trash and Treasure Items Found on Workbench Admit it - we have a workbench problem. If you have a workbench it is likely...

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: National Track Tested (12 Fast Facts)

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: First Ride at Fox Raceway The 2020 Honda CRF250R is virtually all-new this year, with a host of change. There are significant...

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck First Look: Motorcycle Hauler

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck Concept Vehicle: Fully Functional If you’re tired of suffering the indignity of hauling your BMW motorcycle around in the bed of...