Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road Tom Pages Voted Best International FMX Rider

Tom Pages Voted Best International FMX Rider

Tom Pages Voted Best International FMX Rider
Tom Pates, Best International FMX Rider for second time

2014 FMX Awards

FMX fans have voted French Freestyle Motocross rider Tom Pages Best International Freestyle Motocross Rider for the second year running.

Pages garnered 35.8% of the ballot, putting him firmly ahead of the runner-up, Adam Jones of the USA (23.9%). “Best European FMX Rider” was Spaniard Dany Torres with 36.5% of the votes, pipping the Czech Libor Podmol (34.4%) to first place.

Three other riders – Alastair Sayer (BOT), Javier Villegas (CHL) and Taka Higashino (JAP) – retained the titles they won in 2012. Sayer successfully defended his position as “Best African FMX Rider 2013”, Higashino again took “Best Asian FMX Rider” and Villegas from Chile was voted “Best South American FMX Rider”.

Australian Emma McFerran, too, triumphed for the second year in succession, taking “Best Female FMX Rider 2013”, albeit by a slimmer margin than last year: Jolene van Vugt (CAN) attracted 45.9% of the votes, McFerran 47.7%.

Canadian Bruce Cook nabbed first place in two categories, taking almost half the votes for “Best International FMX Rookie 2013” and over 50% for “Best Trick Innovation 2013”. His double front flip at the Nitro Circus Live Event in the USA, in which he came to grief, confining him to a wheelchair, was the clear winner over Tom Pages’ “Flair Kiss of Death”.

Travis Pastrana was voted “Best American FMX Rider”, thereby reclaiming a title he won in 2010. On the other side of the globe New Zealander Levi Sherwood was crowned “Best Australian/Oceanian FMX Rider”.

The title of “Best German FMX Rider 2013” went to Hannes Ackermann for the fourth year in a row. The Thuringian narrowly fought off the challenge from his 16-year-old brother Luc; 0.8% of the votes separated the two brothers.

Antonio Navas and Rocky Florensa from Spain are the first riders to share first place in a category. The two Tandem FMX specialists were voted “Best European FMX Rookies”.

The Nitro Circus Live Tour was awarded “FMX Series of the Year”, beating the NIGHT of the JUMPs/FIM Freestyle MX World Championship and the Red Bull X-Fighters into second and third place respectively. The Yamaha YZ 250 was voted “Best FMX Motorbike 2013” for the fourth year in succession, while won “Best FMX Website 2013”.

The FMX Awards were conceived by the Berlinièros Sports Agency. The annual ceremony recognises outstanding achievement by FMX riders in the previous season. An independent international jury draws up a shortlist of five riders in each category before turning the decision over to the fans for the final vote.

2014 FMX Award Winners:

  • Best International FMX Rider – Tom Pages (FRA)
  • Best European FMX Rider – Dany Torres (ESP)
  • Best American FMX Rider – Travis Pastrana (USA)
  • Best Australian/Ozeanian FMX Rider – Levi Sherwood (NZL)
  • Best African FMX Rider – Alastair Sayer (BOT)
  • Best Asian FMX Rider – Taka Higashino (JAP)
  • Best South American FMX Rider – Javier Villegas (CHL)
  • Best German FMX Rider – Hannes Ackermann GER)
  • Best Female FMX Rider – Emma McFerran (AUS)
  • Best International FMX Rookie – Bruce Cook (CAN)
  • Best European FMX Rookie – Antonio Navas/Rocky Florensa (ESP)
  • Best FMX Series / Event – Nitro Circus Live
  • Best Trick Innovation – Double Frontflip – Bruce Cook (CAN)
  • Best FMX Bike – Yamaha YZ 250
  • Best FMX Website  –

For additional information, visit

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...