2014 Austin Moto2 Results from Circuit of the Americas

2014 Austin Moto2 Results from Circuit of the Americas
Caterham Moto Racing's Josh Herrin
2014 Austin Moto2 Results from Circuit of the Americas
Caterham Moto Racing’s Josh Herrin

2014 Circuit of the Americas Moto2 Results

The Moto2 race at Austin’s Circuit of the Americas opened with a first-lap crash that involved many riders, including Caterham Moto Racing’s Josh Herrin, the only American racing in the series.

Herin would rejoin the COTA race, but tucked the front on his Suter machine on lap 14, suffering a DNF.

“Going into turn one I made a dumb mistake; I didn’t really think about my position on the track and was way too far on the inside. It’s something that shouldn’t happen and I’m just sorry to the guys that I hit,” Josh Herrin says.

“I managed to remount and tried as hard as I could to get back up towards the front as much as I could. I started to get into a rhythm and managed to get up to P21 but I was just pushing too much and ended up tucking the front.”

“I’m really disappointed as I felt like in the race I could have made something happen. I need to try and get a better grid position. This time it’s nobody’s fault but mine and I’m so sorry for my team who all worked incredibly hard.”

2014 Austin Moto2 Results from Circuit of the Americas
Maverick Vinales, the winner of 2014 Austin Moto2

The luck was much different for Pons HP 40’s Maverick Vinales, the reigning Moto2 Champion. In just his second appearance in Moto2, Vinales took the win ahead of Marc VDS Racing Team’s Esteve Rabat – the pole sitter – and Dominique Aegerter (Technomag carXpert) third

Viñales rode brilliantly from sixth on the grid, holding his nerve in an incident-packed “dry race,” which was slightly delayed by rain in Texas, the Spaniard eventually crossing the line four seconds ahead of Rabat.

Aegerter took the final podium spot a further three seconds back with Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) crashing out of the rostrum hunt at the end of the penultimate lap having earlier led the race.

There was chaos at the first corner when the race got underway as a crash hindered the race of many riders, with Herrin, Mattia Pasini (NGM Forward Racing), Axel Pons (AGR Team), Nico Terol (Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2), Sam Lowes (Speed Up) and Luis Salom (Pons HP 40) all involved. Of that group, Herrin Terol and Salom were unable to finish the race and all riders were ok.

Johann Zarco (AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing) crashed out on lap two taking Julian Simon (Italtrans Racing Team) with him, though the latter remounted to finish 23rd. There were crashes too for Louis Rossi (SAG Team), Lorenzo Baldassarri (Gresini Moto2) and Jonas Folger (AGR Team), though they too escaped injury.

Behind the front three Mika Kallio Marc (VDS Racing Team) missed the podium by just over a second, whilst Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing) also made the top five.

Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), Anthony West (QMMF Racing Team), Alex De Angelis (Tasca Racing Moto2) and Tech 3 pair Marcel Schrotter and Ricard Cardus completed the top 10.

The series now breaks for a week before heading to Argentina’s Termas de Rio Hondo April 25-27.

2014 Austin Moto2 Results from Circuit of the Americas:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 40 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Pons HP 40 Kalex 151.3 41’31.520
2 20 53 Esteve RABAT SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 151.1 +4.009
3 16 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 150.9 +7.323
4 13 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 150.8 +8.590
5 11 3 Simone CORSI ITA NGM Forward Racing Forward KLX 150.7 +9.934
6 10 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 150.3 +16.987
7 9 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 150.2 +17.561
8 8 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM Tasca Racing Moto2 Suter 150.2 +18.948
9 7 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Tech 3 Tech 3 150.1 +19.720
10 6 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Tech 3 Tech 3 149.8 +24.552
11 5 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 149.6 +28.463
12 4 54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Forward Racing Forward KLX 148.7 +43.955
13 3 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI IodaRacing Project Suter 148.7 +44.344
14 2 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 148.6 +45.666
15 1 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 148.4 +49.291
16 22 Sam LOWES GBR Speed Up Speed Up 148.3 +51.154
17 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 148.2 +51.331
18 25 Azlan SHAH MAL IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 148.2 +51.683
19 49 Axel PONS SPA AGR Team Kalex 148.2 +52.113
20 45 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA JPN Teluru Team JiR Webike TSR 147.6 +1’02.103
21 97 Roman RAMOS SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 147.6 +1’02.346
22 10 Thitipong WAROKORN THA APH PTT The Pizza SAG Kalex 147.5 +1’03.495
23 60 Julian SIMON SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 147.5 +1’04.944
24 70 Robin MULHAUSER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 147.2 +1’09.941
25 8 Gino REA GBR AGT REA Racing Suter 146.6 +1’20.330
26 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 145.8 +1’33.781
Not Classified
19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 150.9 2 Laps
18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 146.2 3 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA SAG Team Kalex 146.6 11 Laps
2 Josh HERRIN USA AirAsia Caterham Caterham Suter 145.6 14 Laps
94 Jonas FOLGER GER AGR Team Kalex 148.4 15 Laps
7 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA Gresini Moto2 Suter 147.2 16 Laps
5 Johann ZARCO FRA AirAsia Caterham Caterham Suter 121.0 17 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
39 Luis SALOM SPA Pons HP 40 Kalex 0 Lap

2014 Moto2 Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 45
2 Maverick VIÑALES Kalex SPA 38
3 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 33
4 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 26
5 Simone CORSI Forward KLX ITA 22
6 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 16
7 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 16
8 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 11
9 Sam LOWES Speed Up GBR 10
10 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 SPA 10
11 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 8
12 Alex DE ANGELIS Suter RSM 8
13 Marcel SCHROTTER Tech 3 GER 7
14 Louis ROSSI Kalex FRA 6
16 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 5
17 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 5
18 Mattia PASINI Forward KLX ITA 4
19 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 2
20 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 2




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.