2014 MotoGP | Finalized Rider Entry List

Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez
Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez
Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez

2014 MotoGP Riders

Following Ducati’s decision to run all of its GP14s under the Open-class option, the FIM released the finalized rider-entry list for the 2014 MotoGP Championship.

Twenty-three riders are listed, with eight of those on Factory-class machines (Yamaha YZR-M1, Honda RC213V).

As for changes since the provisional list was released in November, the Ducati Team is now under the Open-class rules, and Niccolo Canepa, who was supposed to pilot an Iodaracing Project Open machine, was dropped (Canepa is now racing in World Superbike with Ducati). Added to the finalized list was Broc Parkes; the Australian is piloting a Paul Bird Motorsports Arpilia.

As for Americans, only two remain following Ben Spies retirement from motorcycle racing. For 2014 MotoGP, Colin Edwards returns on the NGM Mobile Forward Racing team aboard the FTR Yamaha. Nicky Hayden also returns, but not with the factory Ducati Team; Hayden will pilot an RCV1000R in the Open class for the Power Electronics Aspar team.

Following is each entry in 2014 MotoGP (rider #, name, nationality, team, manufacturer).

2014 MotoGP Provisional Rider Entry List

#4 Andrea Dovizioso (Italian), Ducati Team – Ducati

#5, Colin Edwards (USA), NGM Mobile Forward Racing – FTR Yamaha

#6, Stefan Bradl (German), LCR Honda MotoGP – Honda *

#7, Hiroshi Aoyama (Japanese), Power Electronics Aspar – Honda

#8, Hector Barbera (Spanish), Avintia Blusens – FTR

#9, Danilo Petrucci (Italian), Iodaracing Project – ART

#17, Karel Abraham (Czech), Cardion AB Motoracing – Honda *

#19, Alvaro Bautista (Spanish), GO&FUN Honda Gresini – Honda *

#23, Brok Parkes (Australian), Paul Bird Motorsport – PBM

#26, Dani Pedrosa (Spanish), Repsol Honda Team- Honda

#29, Andrea Iannone (Italian), Pramac Racing – Ducati

#35, Cal Crutchlow (British), Ducati Team – Ducati

#38, Bradley Smith (British), Monster Yamaha Tech 3 – Yamaha *

#41, Aleix Espargaro (Spanish), NGM Mobile Forward Racing – FTR Yamaha

#44, Pol Espargaro (Spanish), Monster Yamaha Tech 3 – Yamaha *

#45, Scott Redding (British), GO&FUN Honda Gresini – Honda

#46, Valentino Rossi (Italian), Yamaha Factory Racing – Yamaha *

#63, Mike Di Meglio (French), Avintia Blusens – FTR

#68, Yonny Hernandez (Colombian), Pramac Racing – Ducati

#69, Nicky Hayden (USA), Power Electronics Aspar – Honda

#70, Michael Laverty (Britsh), Paul Bird Motorsport – PBM/ART

#93, Marc Marquez (Spanish), Repsol Honda Team – Honda *

#99, Jorge Lorenzo (Spanish), Yamaha Factory Racing – Yamaha *

* = Factory option competitors