2014 Supercross | Anaheim 3 SX Results

Ken Roczen leads Ryan Villopoto

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Anaheim III Results and Coverage

The 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series returned to Angel Stadium of Anaheim for the third time this season, and Discount Tire Racing’s Chad Reed returned his Kawasaki KX450F to the top step of the podium, becoming the second rider to wrack up two wins this season, along with Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, the defending three-time series champion.

Ken Roczen started third, behind Villopoto, and after battling him for three laps managed to get past the reigning SX champion. Roczen made several runs at Reed throughout the race, but, despite looking very much like he had the speed and momentum, the Red Bull KTM rider could not quite put his 450 SX-F into the lead and had to settle for second.

Villopoto never appeared to be on his game at A3, in spite of having the fastest qualifying time and best gate pick of the night in his Heat. “The track was super tough,” said the Monster Energy Kawasaki rider, “but to end up on the podium is always a good thing.” Villopoto has a known preference for loamy tracks, and the slick Anaheim dirt is not to his liking.

Without a lot of position changing, the race might have appeared rather processional, but the possibility of great battles constantly loomed with all the top riders filling the first six positions. Certainly, for those who religiously follow the series, the tension was thick throughout the Main.

Both Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart, and Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey went down a lap apart. Stewart, who won the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with his fast jump off the gate, was battling Dungey mid-race when the pair tangled in a turn. Stewart remounted his Suzuki RM-Z450 and took 7th place.

A lap later, Dungey crashed just out of the whoops and was unable to continue, as his KTM 450 SX-F’s clutch lever assembly was too badly damaged. Dungey leaves A3 28 points behind series leader, Villopoto.

Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia was the beneficiary of Stewart and Dungey’s misfortune, moving up into fourth after running an unchallenged sixth position for the first half of the race.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac returned race-ready to Anaheim III after missing the first four Mains due to an injury suffered in a heat race at A1. Fit and fast enough to transfer directly out of his Heat, Tomac was running mid-pack in the main when his CRF450R suffered a rare flat tire. “Overall, it was a good day of learning, and I did some stuff on the track that the other guys weren't doing so it was fun,” Tomac said. “I think my shoulder probably is 80- to 90-percent, strength-wise.”

Privateer Weston Peike had a personal best finish in 5th place on his Motosport.com Suzuki RM-Z450. His night got off to a great start, with a 3rd in his Heat, ahead of Tomac and RCH/Soaring Eagle’s Broc Tickle.

JGRMX’s Justin Brayton string of good finishes came to an end at A3, as he struggled to 6th place on his Yamaha YZ450F, over 30 seconds off Reed’s pace---it is Brayton’s worst finish since A1. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer’s woes continue, as he finished 8th. BTO Sports’ Andrew Short and Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Ivan Tedesco rounded out the top 10.

Wil Hahn’s rookie season continues to be a tough one on his GEICO Honda CRF450R, as he just avoided being lapped as his finished 12th after injuring his hand in practice. “I've always enjoyed Anaheim and the GEICO Honda team has won a bunch of races here over the years,” Hahn said, “but today I really couldn't wait for this thing to end.”

Villopoto heads to San Diego two points ahead of Reed, who has five points on Roczen. Five races into the Monster Energy Supercross series, the race remains tight at the top, with 7 points separating the top three riders, and less than one race’s points between the top six riders.

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results --- Anaheim 3, 2014
1. Chad Reed, Kawasaki
2. Ken Roczen, KTM
3. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
4. Justin Barcia, Honda
5. Weston Peick, Suzuki
6. Justin Brayton, Yamaha
7. James Stewart, Suzuki
8. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
9. Andrew Short, KTM
10. Ivan Tedesco, KTM
11. Broc Tickle, Suzuki
12. Wil Hahn, Honda
13. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
14. Matt Moss, Suzuki
15. Jimmy Albertson, Honda
16. Vince Friese, Honda
17. Josh Grant, Yamaha
18. Matt Goerki, KTM
19. Chris Blose, Honda
20. Ryan Dungey, KTM
21. Eli Tomac, Honda
22. Mike Alessi, Suzuki

2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Standings After 5 Rounds
1. Ryan Villopoto, 104 points
2. Chad Reed, 102
3. Ken Roczen, 97
4. Justin Brayton, 86
5. James Stewart, 80
6. Ryan Dungey, 76
7. Justin Barcia, 74
8. Andrew Short, 61
9. Wil Hahn, 52
10. Jake Weimer, 50
11. Ivan Tedesco, 38
12. Weston Peick, 37
13. Broc Tickle, 36
14. Josh Grant, 35
15. Nick Wey, 28
16. Matt Moss, 27
17. Mike Alessi, 25
18. Vince Friese, 23
19. Matt Goerke, 20
20. Josh Hill, 16
21. Jimmy Albertson, 12
22. Nicholas Schmidt, 10
23. Kyle Partridge, 10
24. Kyle Chisholm, 9
25. Chris Blose, 4
26. Jimmy Decotis, 1
27. Eli Tomac, 1

Photography by Don Williams



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.