Kawasaki’s Villopoto Leads AMA Motocross Heading into Unadilla

Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto

2013 Unadilla AMA Motocross Preview

Only three rounds remain in the 2013 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, which has been a battle of the two Ryans since day one.

Since the opening round of the 2013 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship at Hangtown, the top battle has between between the two Ryans – Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing’s Ryan Villopoto and Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

Only three rounds remain, and following a week off, the series continuing this weekend at Unadilla in New Berlin, N.Y. And leading the charge as AMA Motocross takes its final East Coast stop of 2013 at round 10 is Villopoto, who has been on a tear aboard his Kawasaki KX-F 450 this season.

The Washington native took four overall and 12 moto wins in the first nine rounds. The only round he didn’t win a moto was the last time out at Spring Creek; Dungey and Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart shared wins there.

KTM SX-F 450 rider Dungey now trails Villopoto by 34 points, but much can change at Unadilla considering both riders had success there. Dungey won Unadilla in 2010 and 2012, and Villopoto in 2011.

The man third in points, Justin Barcia, will return to his home state with hopes of taking his first AMA Motocross victory this weekend. The Monroe, N.Y., native’s highest finish this season was second overall, and he currently is 106 points behind Villopoto.

In the 250 Championship, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac swept the last round at Spring Creek where he took over the points lead for the first time this season. Previous points leader Ken Roczen went down in the first moto, leaving the Red Bull KTM rider to salvage a 35-2 moto score, losing valuable points in the championship chase. This Saturday, Tomac and Roczen will continue their hard fought battle for the 2013 title, MX Sports reports.

In 2012, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin secured his first Lucas Oil Pro Motocross victory at Unadilla and he looks to repeat his success in the 250 Class once again this year. However, Musquin’s overall victory in 2012 came by virtue of a 2-3 moto score, so the Frenchman has yet to win a moto in New York, MX Sports reports.

Tomac tops Roczen by 27 points in the 250 Class Championship with only three rounds to go in the series. Musquin holds third place in the standings with two overall wins under his belt, MX Sports reports.

Unadilla hosted a round of the inaugural Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship in 1972, and has been a part of the Nationals landscape ever since. It remains one of the most unique venues in the sport, thanks to its rolling hills and incredible natural terrain. It boasts a high-speed layout, yet is the site of notorious and awe-inspiring obstacles like Gravity Cavity, The Wall, and the Skyshot.

2013 Unadilla AMA Motocross on Television

The Built Ford Tough Unadilla National will feature live coverage of the first set of motos on FUEL TV and Allisports.com beginning at 1 p.m. EDT, followed by live coverage of the second motos on NBC Sports and Allisports.com, beginning at 3 p.m. EDT.

2013 AMA Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 413
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 379
3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 307
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 269
5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 263
6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 195
7. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM, 191
8. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki, 184
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 183
10. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 176

2013 AMA Motocross 250 Class Championship Standings:
1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 405
2. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 378
3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 334
4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 295
5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 261
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 238
7. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 209
8. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 207
9. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 183
10. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 170


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.