Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross Matt Bisceglia Wins AMA Motocross Horizon Award

Matt Bisceglia Wins AMA Motocross Horizon Award

Matt Bisceglia Wins AMA Motocross Horizon Award (photo by Davids Smith of
Matt Bisceglia Wins AMA Motocross Horizon Award (photo by Davids Smith of

AMA Motocross Horizon Award

The American Motorcyclist Association is pleased to recognize 36 new AMA national champions following a tremendous week of motocross racing at the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynns Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., July 28 through Aug. 4.

Kip Bigelow (AMA Motocross Manager) says: “The Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship is the country’s premier amateur motocross event, and the riders who raise AMA No. 1 plates over their heads here can count themselves among the best of the best.

“We congratulate all the riders for excelling on the national stage, and we once again thank our promotional and organizational partner MX Sports for providing an exceptional experience for thousands of AMA members, from track prep to the awards ceremonies.”

Among the most decorated racers over the week of competition was AMA Motocross Horizon Award winner and Amsoil/Factory Connection Honda rider Matt Bisceglia from Weatherford, Texas. Bisceglia swept all three motos in the Open Pro Sport class and scored two firsts and a second in the 250 A class for two national titles.

Matt Bisceglia says: “The week was great. I rode smart and put in six good motos. I just got good starts and did what I had to do. I won the AMA Horizon Award, and I was real happy with that. It’s an honor to win that award. It has been a dream of mine since I was nice years old and watched Ryan Villopoto win it my first year at the nationals.”

Bisceglia, whose father Don raced at the pro level, will start his pro career next weekend at the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championships on Aug. 10 at Unadilla in New Berlin, N.Y.

Matt bisceglia says: “I’m really excited for the pro nationals this weekend. It almost feels like it’s not real. It’s something I’ve been working on my whole life. It’s always been in the back of my mind that it would go this far, but to see it becoming a reality is really exciting.”

Bisceglia said the key to reaching the top of the amateur ranks is, not surprisingly, hard work and desire.

Matt Bisceglia says: “Anybody can do it. It’s who wants it most. I got 16th my first year at the nationals. I didn’t have a factory ride growing up on 60s and 85s. I had to work for everything I got. Nobody is going to just give you anything, but anyone can earn it. You just have to want it and work hard.”

The AMA Youth Motocrosser of the Year was Cobra rider Jet Reynolds. Reynolds, from Bakersfield, Calif., dominated the 51cc (7-8) class and 65cc (7-9) class, winning all six motos. The last rider to win a 51cc and 65cc title at the amateur nationals was Davi Millsaps in 1997.

In the Vet ranks, Dade City, Fla.’s Timmy Ferry claimed the AMA’s top Vet honors. Ferry, who finished second to the 2012 AMA Vet Motocrosser of the Year Robbie Reynard in the Vet (35+) class, swept all three motos in the Junior 25+ class to claim that AMA national championship.

A full list of the 2013 champions from the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship is below. For complete results from the week of racing, visit

The Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Amsoil is one of the most diverse national championships in America. It includes classes for riders from 4 years old to 50-plus on motorcycles ranging from 51cc minibikes to state-of-the-art highly modified 450cc motocross machines.

The success of the national championship has produced a long list of AMA Supercross and AMA Motocross superstars. Riders who have progressed through the program include AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers Jeremy McGrath and Ricky Carmichael, as well as Kevin Windham, Travis Pastrana, James Stewart, Ryan Dungey, Ryan Villopoto and many more.

The AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship represents one of the longest-running motorsports championships in the country. The AMA launched the national championship program in 1975. That year, a series of regional races qualified 135 riders in three classes – 125cc, 250cc and Open – for the championship round in Baldwin, Kan. The program evolved over the next few years to include additional classes, with championship finales run in varying locations across the country. In 1982, the AMA partnered with MX Sports and the event moved to its current location at the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. There, the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship continues to crown the country’s top amateur motocross racers every summer.

2013 AMA National Motocross Champions:

Open Pro Sport

Matt Bisceglia

Weatherford, Texas

250 A

Matt Bisceglia

Weatherford, Texas

250 B Limited

Jordon Smith

Belmont, N.C.

250 B

Aaron Plessinger

Hamilton, Ohio

250 C Limited

Adam Nickerson

Chico, Calif.

250 C

Tauan Brenner

Antioch, Calif.

450 A

Luke Renzland

Hewitt, N.J.

450 B Limited

Aaron Plessinger

Hamilton, Ohio

450 B

Tyler McSwain

Shelby, N.C.

450 C

Derek Valenzuela

Athol, Idaho

Two-Stroke B/C (16+)

Jerry Robin

Hamel, Minn.

College B/C (16-24)

Josh Cartwright

Bartlett, Tenn.

Junior 25+

Timmy Ferry

Dade City, Fla.

Vet B/C 30+

Michael Mitchell

Union Grove, N.C.

Vet 35+

Robbie Reynard

Oklahoma City, Okla.

Senior 40+

Keith Johnson

Carver, Mass.

Senior 45+

Trampas Parker

Okmelgee, Okla.

Masters 50+

Kevin Foley

Orange, Calif.

51cc (4-6) Special Limited

Daxton Bennick

Morganton, N.C.

51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive Limited

Levi Bolton

Smyrna, Ga.

51cc (4-6) Limited

Casey Cochran

Arlington, Tenn.

51cc (7-8) Limited

Jett Reynolds

Bakersfield, Calif.

65cc (7-9) Limited

Jett Reynolds

Bakersfield, Calif.

65cc (10-11) Limited

Aiden Tijero

Ripon, Calif.

65cc (7-11)

Ty Masterpool

Paradise, Texas

85cc (9-11) Limited

Jalek Swoll

Silver Springs, Fla.

85cc (9-11)

Garrett Marchbanks

Coalville, Utah

Mini Sr (12-14) Limited

Joey Crown

Metamora, Mich.

Mini Sr (12-14)

Joey Crown

Metamora, Mich.

Super Mini 1 (12-15)

Mitchell Harrison

Cairo, Ga.

Super Mini 2 (13-16)

Ashton Hayes

Rockford, Mich.

Schoolboy 1 (12-16) B/C

Ryan Surratt

Corona, Calif.

Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C

Ryan Surratt

Corona, Calif.

Girls (12-16)

Hannah Hodges

Deland, Fla.

Girls (9-11)

Jazzmyn Canfield

Deltona, Fla.

Women (14+)

Mackenzie Tricker


Sturgis Meals on Wheels Charity Work Pinning the Throttle

One of the less-covered side stories of the 80th Annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally based in the Black Hills of South Dakota is all the...

BSMC x Indian Motorcycle = Stylish Apparel Partnership

America’s Indian Motorcycle and London’s Bike Shed Motorcycle Club have joined forces for a range of lifestyle apparel. The co-branding comes with an announcement...

Top 5 Strange Odors That Can Mean Trouble With Your Motorcycle

It’s true—that schnozz of yours can be a powerful tool for something besides smelling the pizza Do you have a nose for trouble? I mean...

BMW R 18 Dragster by Roland Sands Design: Competitive Urge

“Combining a racing aesthetic and function with a custom style,” Roland Sands explains, “this is what we are probably best known for. We like to...

KTM, Rookie Binder, and South Africa Make MotoGP History

During round three of the 2020 MotoGP - the Monster Energy Czech Republic Grand Prix at Brno - three new names entered the MotoGP...

2019 Indian Scout & Scout Bobber Recall: Brake Issues

Indian Motorcycle Company has recalled 2,742 of its 2019 Indian Scout and Scout Bobber motorcycles due to possible brake-performance issues. Indian says on models equipped...