Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road 2013 Rally dos Sertoes | Speedbrain's Goncalves Wins Stage 5

2013 Rally dos Sertoes | Speedbrain’s Goncalves Wins Stage 5

2013 Rally dos Sertoes Stage Five Results

Speedbrain’s Paolo Goncalves took his third-stage win Monday during Brazil’s Rally dos Sertoes, round five of six in the 2013 FIM Cross-Countries Rallies Championship.

This was also the Portuguese rider’s fifth podium in as many stages, and overall he trails the reigning Rally dos Sertoes Champion, KTM’s Marc Coma. The Spaniard Coma – a three-time Dakar winner – finished second in stage five, with Yamaha’s Cyril Despres taking the final podium position.

Monday’s “marathon” stage took the riders over 300 miles from Porangatu to Natividade without any help from the team staff following the finish line. Speedbrain reports the terrain was provided several different kinds of difficulties. Fast and slippery sections were followed by hard and stony tracks.

Gonclaves started stage five third following his third-place finish behind Despres on Sunday, which was the Frenchman’s first-ever stage win on the Yamaha following his switch from KTM.

Gonvlaves quickly caught up to Despres and Coma by the halfway point, and was able to take the lead and retain it to the checkered flag.

Paulo Goncalves (Speedbrain 450 Rally) says: “I am really happy to grab the third victory for my team today at the Sertoes. My Speedbrain 450 Rally was running perfect. At the halfway point of the ten day race the overall win is clearly our focus. Nevertheless I will ride carefully tomorrow. Today it was not allowed to change the worn out tires so I will have to take care of that to reach the finish line safely.”

The second part of the marathon stage on Tuesday takes the riders 263 miles to Palmas, with a special stage of 220 miles. It’s expected to be another battle between Coma Goncalves and Despres as the Rally dos Sertoes begins the second half of the overall race.

2013 Rally dos Sertoes Stage 5 Results:

1. Paulo Goncalves (PRT, Speedbrain) 03:58:05 hrs

2. Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:01:02

3. Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +00:02:37

4. Metge (FRA, Yamaha) +00:04:47

5. Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:04:54

2013 Rally dos Sertoes Overall Standings after Stage 5:

1. Coma (ESP, KTM) 11:38:59 hrs

2. Paulo Goncalves (PRT, Speedbrain) +00:02:24

3. Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +00:03:14

4. Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:23:16

5. Metge (FRA, Yamaha) +00:23:39

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...