2013 Indianapolis AMA Supercross | Preview

Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto

2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross

The 2013 Monster Energy Supercross series heads to Lucas Oil Stadium this weekend for round 11 of 17.  The competition was intense all season, but heading into Indy things are really starting to heat up.

Following his fifth win 2013 AMA Supercross last weekend at Daytona, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto became the first rider of the season to knock Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps out of the points lead.

And as the series heads to Indy, Villopoto already has an advantage – he won there last season.

During last year’s Indy Supercross race, which was held before nearly 60,000 spectators, Villopoto had a bad start. But he ascended through the field, and with four laps remaining he made a pass on Justin Brayton for the lead. Aboard the Kawasaki KX-F 450, Villopoto would finish ahead of Brayton (then Muscle-Milk Honda) and Millsaps (then JGRMX Yamaha).

The momentum began ascending for Villopoto over the past four races, the reigning SX champ winning three of those. Meanwhile, Millsaps began losing points, mostly due to his 10th-place finish at Daytona and sixth at St. Louis.

Then at Daytona last Saturday, Villopoto grabbed the holeshot, but went off the track, dropping to third. But he worked his way back into the lead by the fourth lap, and went on to win by over five seconds ahead of Dungey, with Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia taking third.

During his recent surge, Villopoto made up a 24-point deficit, not only passing Millsaps in the points, but also Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

Through its first four races, the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship has boasted three different winners, making for a parity-filled start to the season. In Daytona, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin became the second rider this season to claim his first career Monster Energy Supercross victory, joining championship leader Wil Hahn, Feld Motor Sports says.

Hahn maintained control of the championship lead aboard his GEICO Honda, finishing second to follow-up his back-to-back victories. He is now the only rider in the Eastern Regional Championship to finish on the podium in each of the four races this season, Feld Motor Sports says.

Hahn currently holds a five-point lead over Wilson, who ultimately settled for a fourth-place finish in Daytona after challenging for the lead early, Feld Motor Sports says.

Last season’s Eastern Regional 250SX Class race in Indianapolis was a memorable one for Rockstar Energy Racing’s Blake Wharton, who raced to his second career victory inside Lucas Oil Stadium following a late pass for the lead.

The first 450SX Class race held in Indianapolis was March 21, 1992, when Jeff Stanton won aboard a Honda. Jeremy McGrath has the most wins in Indianapolis with six, all of which came inside the old RCA Dome, which hosted Monster Energy Supercross from 1992 to 2008. Since 2009, only Villopoto and Chad Reed have emerged victorious inside Lucas Oil Stadium. Reed, Ricky Carmichael, and Ezra Lusk are the only riders to win at Indy in both the 450SX Class and 250SX Class, Feld Motor Sports says.

Jimmy Button claimed the first 250SX Class victory in Indianapolis in 1992 while riding a Yamaha. Since Lucas Oil Stadium began hosting Monster Energy Supercross in 2009, four different riders have claimed the 250SX Class win, making it one of the unpredictable stops of the Eastern Regional Championship, Feld Motor Sports says.

 2013 Indy AMA Supercross on TV

Live broadcast coverage of the action from Indianapolis can be seen exclusively on SPEED, beginning at 7:30 PM EST.

2013 Monster Energy Supercross 450SX Class Points (after 10 of 17 rounds): 

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 202
  2. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 200
  3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 188
  4. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 163
  5. Chad Reed, Australia, Honda, 163
  6. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 152
  7. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 135
  8. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 122
  9. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha, 104
  10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 99

2013 Eastern Regional Monster Energy Supercross 250SX Class Points: 

  1. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 92
  2. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 87
  3. Marvin Musquin, France, KTM, 78
  4. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki, 76
  5. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 52
  6. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 51
  7. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 50
  8. Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda, 45
  9. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 43
  10. Gavin Faith, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda, 40


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.