2012 Motorland Aragon Moto3 | Results


2012 Moto3 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto3 Championship results from Motorland Aragon, Spain, listed below

In an exciting Moto3 race at the Gran Premio Iveco de Aragón it was RW Racing’s Luis Salom who emerged victorious for the second time this season in front of Sandro Cortese and Jonas Folger.

Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales dramatically suffered a technical problem on his out lap, leaving the title challenger unable to contest his home round. Once the race did get underway it was Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Folger who got the holeshot and led the early stages ahead of Salom. Moto FGR’s Jasper Iwema was also unfortunate as he crashed out on the second lap, followed by Bradol Larresport’s wildcard Jorge Navarro.

AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin made a brave move three laps in to take the lead from Folger, taking Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Cortese with him. A lap later, JHK t-shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez also started charging up the field into fourth, sticking to the back wheel of Folger until he was able to take him up the inside for third. The German was under pressure a few laps later heading into turn one and was handed down the grid further, as Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins joined the front-runners.

In true Moto3 fashion, the leading group, consisting of 13 riders, was changing positions frequently, with Cortese taking the lead with 14 laps left. This group thinned out to seven riders three laps on, with Rins’ teammate Oliveira and Racing Team Germany’s Luis Rossi hanging on at the back. On the same lap Team Italia FMI’s Romano Fenati retired with a small oil leak. Six laps before the end it was heartbreak for Khairuddin as he crashed out of the race, putting an end to the young Malaysian’s charge.

Three laps on and Vázquez’s teammate Adrian Martín crashed out at turn two, as the lead was starting to swap frequently at the front as rider started to attack for the lead. And the last lap once again proved a thriller as Cortese, Salom and Folger went fairing to fairing until almost the final turn, with Salom showing none of the effects of his big crashes in the preceding sessions.

And in the end it was the Spaniard who took the chequered flag for his second win this year ahead of Cortese and Folger. With Viñales’ retirement this now puts Cortese 51 points clear at the top of the championship, with Salmon now in second, 15 points ahead of Viñales. Fourth spot went to Cortese’s teammate Danny Kent, with Vázquez, Rins, Rossi, Estrella Galicia’s Oliveira, Red Bull’s Arthur Sissis and San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolò Antonelli rounding out the top ten.

2012 Motorland Aragon Moto3 Results:

1.2539Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM148.840’56.391
2.2011Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM148.8+0.155
3.1694Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM148.8+0.362
4.1352Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM148.8+1.115
5.117Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda148.8+1.160
6.1042Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda148.7+1.765
7.996Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda148.7+1.839
8.844Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda148.7+1.972
9.761Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM148.7+2.415
10.627Niccolò ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3FTR Honda148.7+2.587
11584Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda148.7+2.845
12.419Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda148.7+3.067
13.323Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia JHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda148.6+3.763
14.231Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM147.9+14.899
15.112Alex MARQUEZSPAAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda147.9+15.041
16.41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM146.7+36.470
17.32Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda146.6+37.422
18.9Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERRacing Team GermanyHonda146.6+37.457
19.8Jack MILLERAUSCaretta TechnologyHonda146.6+38.312
20.29Luca AMATOGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM146.4+40.831
21.89Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda146.4+40.849
22.17John McPHEEGBRCaretta TechnologyKRP Honda146.3+41.879
23.30Giulian PEDONESWIAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda146.3+42.044
24.58Juan Francisco GUEVARASPAWild Wolf BSTFTR Honda145.5+55.896
25.99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra145.1+1’02.687
26.51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda144.3+1’18.055
27.80Armando PONTONEITAIodaRacing ProjectIoda144.2+1’18.374
Not Classified
26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda146.83 Laps
95Miroslav POPOVCZEMahindra RacingMahindra144.44 Laps
63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM148.86 Laps
5Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda147.611 Laps
49Jorge NAVARROSPABradol LarresportHonda138.019 Laps
53Jasper IWEMANEDMoto FGRFGR Honda92.519 Laps
Not Starting
25Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda0 Laps

2012 Moto3 Championship Points:

2.Luis SALOMKalex KTMSPA194
3.Maverick VIÑALESFTR HondaSPA179
4.Romano FENATIFTR HondaITA120
5.Alex RINSSuter HondaSPA106
7.Alexis MASBOUHondaFRA81
9.Miguel OLIVEIRASuter HondaPOR74
10.Jonas FOLGERKalex KTMGER72
11.Efren VAZQUEZFTR HondaSPA70
12.Niccolò ANTONELLIFTR HondaITA69
13.Louis ROSSIFTR HondaFRA68
16.Alberto MONCAYOFTR HondaSPA52
17.Hector FAUBELKalex KTMSPA52
18.Niklas AJOKTMFIN23
19.Alan TECHERTSR HondaFRA21
20.Alessandro TONUCCIFTR HondaITA18
21.Alex MARQUEZSuter HondaSPA16
22.Jack MILLERHondaAUS14
23.Ivan MORENOFTR HondaSPA10
24.Jasper IWEMAFGR HondaNED9
26.Giulian PEDONESuter HondaSWI7
28.Adrian MARTINFTR HondaSPA6
30.Marcel SCHROTTERMahindraGER4
31.Kevin HANUSHondaGER3
33.Kevin CALIAHondaITA2
34.John McPHEEKRP HondaGBR1
35.Michael Ruben RINALDIHondaITA1
36.Simone GROTZKYJSuter HondaITA1