2012 Sachsenring Moto2 | Results

2012 Moto2 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto2 results from Sachsenring, Germany, listed below

Amid warm and sunny conditions at the eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland at the Sachsenring, it was Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez who extended his championship lead in the Moto2 category as he took victory ahead of Mika Kallio and Alex de Angelis.

At the start it was Márquez who took the holeshot followed by Marc VDS Racing Team’s Mika Kallio and Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón. Kallio’s teammate Scott Redding crashed out in the first set of bends as he made contact with Mapfre Aspar Team’s Toni Elías.

With 24 laps remaining, Elías too crashed out of the race, while Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone continued to heap ever more pressure on Márquez in second.

A lap later, Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró did tremendously well to save a near crash, though he did drop back some positions. To add to the excitement, with 21 laps to go Iannone made his pass on Márquez, with the Spaniard taking him back almost immediately. On the same lap, JiR Moto2’s Brazilian youngster Eric Granado crashed after running off into the gravel.

Following this there was drama at the front as Iannone crashed out pushing too hard into turn one, though he was able to re-join the race in 26th. With 15 laps remaining, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis made a move on Kallio at turn 12, but the Finn got the better drive out of the corner and re-took second. A few laps later De Angelis had another go and made it stick that time, as Espargaró started to hunt down the front three. GP Team Switzerland’s Randy Krummenacher crashed out of the race on the same lap, yet was unhurt in the incident.

The pack had settled down in the latter stages, however it was Kallio who provided a last gasp of excitement two laps before the end as he passed De Angelis into turn one to take second place. De Angelis tried to retake him in the final corner yet ran wide, with the Finn having the better drive out of the bend.

Ultimately it was Márquez who took the chequered flag for his fourth win this year, with Kallio and De Angelis both taking their first podium of the season. Márquez now leads the championship by 43 points ahead of Espargaró, who finished fourth. They were followed by Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi, Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith and Xavier Siméon, Italtrans Racing Team’s Claudio Corti and CIP-Technomag’s Dominique Aegerter.

2012 Sachsenring Moto2 Results:

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter153.841’32.467
2.2036Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex153.6+2.093
3.1615Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR153.6+2.567
4.1340Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex153.4+5.990
5.1112Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter153.4+6.139
6.103Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR153.1+11.051
7.938Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3153.1+11.409
8.819Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3152.9+14.808
9.771Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex152.5+20.769
10.677Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter152.2+25.141
11.55Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi152.1+27.467
12.480Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex152.1+27.475
13.388Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR152.0+28.590
14.218Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter152.0+28.713
15.160Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter151.8+32.787
16.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up151.6+35.376
17.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki151.6+35.596
18.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter151.5+37.591
19.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex151.0+45.667
20.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex150.9+47.436
21.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter150.8+49.341
22.50Damian CUDLINAUSDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota150.7+50.704
23.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR149.4+1’12.766
24.11Kevin WAHRGERKiefer RacingIAMT149.3+1’14.334
25.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex147.91 Lap
26.21Markus REITERBERGERGERCresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda147.11 Lap
27.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi145.51 Lap
Not Classified
14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter151.94 Laps
82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki147.810 Laps
49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex148.311 Laps
72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR152.413 Laps
22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up148.123 Laps
24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter150.124 Laps
45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex0 Lap

2012 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

1.Marc MARQUEZSuterSPA152
3.Thomas LUTHISuterSWI107
4.Andrea IANNONESpeed UpITA104
5.Scott REDDINGKalexGBR86
6.Mika KALLIOKalexFIN72
7.Bradley SMITHTech 3GBR56
8.Claudio CORTIKalexITA52
9.Esteve RABATKalexSPA51
11.Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI44
12.Johann ZARCOMotobiFRA41
14.Toni ELIASSuterSPA34
15.Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN27
17.Xavier SIMEONTech 3BEL17
18.Julian SIMONSuterSPA15
19.Mike DI MEGLIOSpeed UpFRA10
20.Anthony WESTMoriwakiAUS9
22.Ratthapark WILAIROTSuterTHA8
23.Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA5
25.Gino REAMoriwakiGBR1

Previous article2012 Red Bud Motocross | Results
Next article2012 Sachsenring Moto3 | Results
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).