Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport KTM: Dungey's Historic Supercross Win

KTM: Dungey’s Historic Supercross Win

2012 AMA Supercross

When the 17-round AMA Supercross Championship throttled into action at Anaheim, Calif., newly-signed KTM rider Ryan Dungey showed the SX-F 450 was a top contender, landing the Austrian-based machine on the podium.

But Dungey had more to prove at Chase Field in Phoenix Saturday. The 22-year-old Belle Plaine, Minn., native would go onto dominate in Phoenix, giving KTM its first-ever AMA Supercross victory.

And the 2010 AMA Supercross/Motocross champion did it with style; he took the Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot, and went on to lead all 20 laps. This was following a fourth-place finish in his heat race.

Ryan Dungey (Red Bull KTM SX-F 450 Supercross) says: “I was definitely motivated by my teammate tonight,” Dungey said on the podium. “I saw Marvin (Musquin) got second in the Lites main and knew I had to step up my game to match him and do well for our team. This win feels so incredible. The whole crew at KTM has been behind me 100% since I joined them in October and it is amazing to earn this win together!”

Roger DeCoster (Red Bull/KTM Factory Team Manager) says: “It is not just our team in the US but the whole crew in Austria at our factory that have helped us get here. It’s amazing to get a podium in only our second race of the season. It feels really good that we were able to deliver for the people that backed us. We have proved ourselves with a win and intend to keep progressing.”

With his wins, Dungey is now tied with Anaheim I winner Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki) with 45 points after two of 17 rounds. The series now heads to Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles this weekend.

Dungey joined KTM in October after his contract was complete with the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team. Dungey began dominating in 2009 with his AMA Supercross Lites Western Regional title, and then that year’s AMA Pro Motocross Championship 250cc class crown.

Dungey raced on the 2009 Motocross des Nations where he was one of three members aboard the winning U.S. Team. In 2010, he became the first rider in history to win both the AMA Supercross and AMA Pro Motocross Championship in his rookie year. He again went on to lead the 2010 Motocross des Nations team to victory on U.S soil in Lakewood, Colo.

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...