KTM’s Blazusiak Wins Indy EnduroCross

2011 AMA EnduroCross

Once again, KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak was victorious in 2011 AMA EnduroCross, the five-time Red Bull Hare Scramble winner taking the win Friday night at Pepsi Stadium in Indianapolis.

The Polish rider Blazusiak, who also won the EnduroCross at X-Games and Round 1 in Everett, Washington, was joined on the Indy podium by teammate Mike Brown and Kawasaki’s Justin Soule.

Friday began with timed qualifying, but Blazusiak suffered a mistake, finishing seventh. Leading the timed qualifying was Brown, who was fastest ahead of Beta’s Cody Webb and GEICO Honda’s Geoff Aaron.

But when the heat races arrived, Blazusiak was back on top, allowing him to pick his gate for the main event. During the main event, Blazusiak and Brown were on top, but Brown couldn’t keep up with his teammate.

Taddy, who has moved up to a KTM 350 SX-F for this season, has won three of seven events so far, and is currently in the points lead.

According to EnduroCross, In addition to the Expert class, EnduroCross events include Amateur, Vet 35+ and TrialsCross classes. The top two finishers in each class also earn a spot in the Vegas Grand Championship Finals for each respective class.

The Vet class was won by Dirt Bike magazine Associate Editor, Adam Booth won ahead of Steve Leivan and Daryl Howell. ISDE legend Jeff Fredette finished fourth and former NBA star Rik Smits finished 8th. The Amateur class was won by Michael Williams over Caleb Wohletz and Eric Rhoten. The TrialsCross class was won by Chase Harker ahead of Chrostopher Zuroski and Michael Norris. The top three in each amateur class face off in the Dirt Rider Dash for Cash and Eric Rhoten took the win over Chase Harker and Matt Crouch.

The GEICO AMA EnduroCross series will now go to California for a first time event inside the Citizens Business Bank Arena in Ontario, California on Saturday, Sept. 17.