Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport KTM's Blazusiak Wins Everett EnduroCross

KTM’s Blazusiak Wins Everett EnduroCross

2011ktm-blazusiak-wins-everett-endurocross 2

2011 AMA EnduroCross

The 2011 GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, presented by Lucas Oi,l made a huge impact as part of the X Games less than two weeks ago then the riders made the trip up to the Pacific Northwest to race in the Comcast Arena in Everett Washington.

And just like at the X Games, Taddy Blazusiak rode his Factory KTM 350 to the win. Geoff Aaron finished second on his GEICO Honda while Cody Webb rounded out the podium on his factory Beta.

The afternoon got started with the timed qualifying laps to determine the gate picks for the heat races. Blazusiak set the fastest time followed by Aaron, Graham Jarvis, Mike Brown and Colton Haaker. The “Hot Laps” determine the gate picks for the heat races.

Blazusiak, Webb and Jarvis each won their heat races to get direct transfers to the main event. Webb has really stepped up his game for EnduroCross and looks like he will be a regular podium contender. Jarvis made the trip from England to compete in a few North American off road events and showed that he is a contender. The biggest surprise non-qualifier for the main event was Monster Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert who could not re-fire his bike after stalling in his semi.

When the gate dropped for the main event, Blazusiak immediately took the lead but could not shake the field for the first three laps. Brown, Webb and Aaron all stayed very close and began a fierce battle that slowed each of them and allowed Blazusiak to pull away.

Aaron eventually took control of second and Webb fought back to third after a few mistakes. Brown took fourth just ahead of Graham Jarvis. Jarvis rode a very steady race but seemed uncomfortable with the high intensity of the first few laps. Lucas Oil backed Haaker finished sixth ahead of Oregon’s Kevin Rookstool. Justin Soule finished eighth on the Monster Energy Kawasaki ahead of Gary Sutherlin, Wally Palmer and an unlucky Bobby Prochnau. The top Canadian off road motorcycle racer had worked his way to fourth but a derailed chain ended his race.

In the end, Blazusiak lapped all the way up to third place, which is an amazing display of skill with such a strong field of riders that included Aaron, a 10 time AMA Trials Champion, Cody Webb, the 2010 Trials Champion and Jarvis, who just this year has won the Romaniacs, Tough One and Hells Gate Extreme Enduro events.

In addition to the Expert class, EnduroCross events include Amateur, Vet 35+ and TrialsCross classes. The top two finishers in each class also earn a spot in the Vegas Grand Championship Finals for each respective class. The Vet class was won by Shane Culberson over Joe Kopp and Billy Baldwin. The Amateur class was won by Ben Rego over Matt Crouch and Keith Curtis. The TrialsCross class was won by Max Nelson ahead of Paul Neff and Teddy Hahn.

Due to the X Games buzz for the Women’s class and a large number of female riders interested in competing, the Everett round also included a Women’s class. Seattle native and X Games gold medal winner Maria Forsberg took the win after literally dragging her bike across the finish line just ahead of Canada’s Victory Hett. Chantelle Bykerk finished third ahead of Christy Williams and Kendall Reed.

The GEICO AMA EnduroCross series will now head east to Indianapolis, Indiana for a Friday night event that kicks off the MotoGP weekend on August 26th. The event will take place inside the Pepsi Coliseum at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

Tickets for the Indy event are available at Bloomington Powersports and IndyMoto, as well as directly from Ticketmaster. Information for all of the GEICO EnduroCross events can be found at

2011ktm-blazusiak-wins-everett-endurocross 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...