2011 Brno Moto2: Czech Grand Prix Results

2011-brno-moto2-czech-grand-prix-results (1)

2011 Moto2

Andrea Iannone took his first Moto2 win Sunday in Brno, and consequently podium, since his triumph at the second round in Jerez.

The Italian Speed Master rider crossed the line ahead of Marc Marquez (Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol Moto2) in second, Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) in third and Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) fourth as the four riders scrapped for all Moto2 podium positions, bodies and bikes touching in the struggle.

Championship leader Bradl led into turn one off the start, with Marquez and Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) close behind. By lap three, it appeared the German rider had a solid lead, with De Angelis, Iannone, and Márquez forming the chasing pack, until Iannone took started his charge to the front, catching and passing Bradl on lap 13.

With three laps to go, it was a free for all between the four riders, with Iannone making a pass on Marquez on the last lap to take the top spot on the podium, moving the Italian from seventh to fourth in the Championship chase. Fourth place for de Angelis moves the San Marino rider up into third in the Championship.

Luthi crossed the line in fifth, followed by Aleix Espargaró (Pons HP 40), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP), Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) and Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP) in tenth.

Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing), Carmelo Morales (Desguaces La Torre G22) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) all had falls and retired from the race.

2011 Brno Moto2 Results

1.2529Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter157.341’13.255
2.2093Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter157.3+0.161
3.1665Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex157.3+0.407
4.1315Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi157.2+0.870
5.1112Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter157.0+4.225
6.1040Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex156.4+13.636
7.934Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR156.4+13.647
8.877Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter156.4+14.365
9.73Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR156.4+14.617
10.654Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter155.9+21.383
11.575Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR155.6+26.235
12.472Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki155.4+29.726
13.336Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter155.4+30.046
14.271Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter155.4+30.380
15.163Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3155.4+30.459
16.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR155.3+31.691
17.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR155.3+31.752
18.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki155.1+35.548
19.18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter154.8+40.270
20.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR154.7+40.722
21.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR154.7+40.803
22.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki154.6+42.247
23.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3154.6+42.285
24.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex154.6+42.348
25.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter154.0+53.036
26.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter154.0+53.044
27.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR153.2+1’06.674
28.97Steven ODENDAALRSAMS RacingSuter153.1+1’07.935
29.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda151.7+1’30.360
30.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki151.7+1’30.499
Not Classified
24Tommaso LORENZETTIITAAeroport de CastelloFTR151.61 Lap
25Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter152.99 Laps
16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter147.99 Laps
76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda146.313 Laps
31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Suter151.117 Laps
38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3148.519 Laps
68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR144.819 Laps
4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex0 Lap