Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Bismark AMA Enduro: Mullins Wins on KTM

Bismark AMA Enduro: Mullins Wins on KTM

2011 AMA National Enduro Series

Factory FMF/KTM rider Charlie Mullins won the fifth round of the AMA National Enduro Series held in Bismarck, AR while his teammate, Cory Buttrick, finished 2nd overall.

Rain the day before the race and the morning of had made the track quite muddy as the riders lined up for the start of the first test. Mullins got off to a great start in the first section winning the section by 19 seconds.

Charlie Mullins (KTM Enduro) says: “It was great to start off with a big win in the first test and it helped my confidence as we moved on to the second test sections.”

In the second test section Mullins lost his front in on the slippery course and lost a few seconds recovering from his crash. He still managed to finish the test with the second fastest time while Buttrick took the test win.

The third test of the day ended up being thrown out of the mix as a majority of the riders got lost on the course. Mullins stepped back up in the fourth test section and took the test win with Husaberg’s Mike Lafferty and Nick Fahringer tying for 2nd while Buttrick took 4th.

The final two test sections were very close with the top three riders finishing within a few seconds of each other. Mullins finished 3rd in both tests to earn the overall win while Buttrick put in his best effort to catch him finishing 2nd in the two sections to take 2nd overall.

The third member of the FMF/KTM Team, Russell Bobbitt, came into the fifth round with the points lead. Unfortunately, Bobbitt struggled on the slippery course as he tried to ride on an injured wrist from a riding accident three weeks back.

Russell Bobbitt (KTM Enduro) says: “I tried to play it safe today in order to not injure my wrist any worse than it is. Every point I can earn counts in this championship so I am happy I was able to finish safely. Luckily there is a few weeks break before the next round and I am hoping to be in better form for that round.”

Next AMA National Enduro Event: June 19, 2011 – Upton, Wyo.

2011 Bismark AMA National Enduro Overall Results –

1.) Charlie Mullins – 29:32

2.) Cory Buttrick – 30:02

3.) Mike Lafferty – 30:28

4.) Nick Fahringer – 31:23

5.) Thad Duvall – 31:35

6.) Rory Mead – 34:06

7.) Russell Bobbitt – 34:33

8.) Andrew Delong – 35:03

9.) Shane Hufford – 36:07

10.) Brad Bakken – 36:16

2011 AMA National Enduroa Overall Point Standings –

1.) Charlie Mullins – 125

2.) Russell Bobbitt – 122

3.) Cory Buttrick – 106

4.) Nick Fahringer – 93

5.) Brad Bakken – 79


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....