News Phillip Island Supersport: Close Finish Return

Phillip Island Supersport: Close Finish Return

World Supersport

The outstandingly close finish to the Phillip Island Supersport World Championship race last weekend was, remarkable as it sounds, a return to business as usual in this class.

The top three World Supersport riders were covered by only 0.033 seconds after 21-laps of action, but close finishes are something of a specialty in Australia.

Last year Eugene Laverty (Honda) broke the usual mould in this category by winning the race by over four seconds. Before that, close finishes were almost guaranteed, at a circuit seemingly built for grandstand finishes.

In 2009 Kenan Sofuoglu, Andrew Pitt and Anthony West (all Honda) were separated by only 0.153 seconds. The previous year the first five riders across the line were spread across 0.976 seconds, as Andrew Pitt, Josh Brookes and Robbin Harms (all Honda), plus Fabien Foret (Yamaha) and Jonathan Rea (Honda) battled all the way to the flag.

A mere 0.704 seconds was the difference between the win and second in 2007, in a race won by Kawasaki rider Fabien Foret from Honda rider Kenan Sofuoglu.

And with Luca Scassa (Yamaha), Broc Parkes (Kawasaki) and Sam Lowes (Honda) involved in their remarkable final battle for the win last Sunday, and fourth place David Salom (Kawasaki) only 0.272 seconds from victory himself, things have clearly moved up a gear again in the Supersport World Championship.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Neale Bayly Returns Home after Thirty Years

It was the summer of ‘85 when the Moto Guzzi blew its engine. I borrowed money for a big Laverda then flipped a friend’s...

The Great Race Tee by Pro Circuit First Look: Upgrade Your Closet

There are a lot more motorcycle racers who are legendary than there are race team owners. However, Mitch Payton is definitely an exception to...

Run-in with the Police—a Harley-Davidson Road King Police, That Is

I don’t often have a run-in with the police. Well, I recently had one. No, not some enforcement of the “Safer at Home” COVID-19 type...

Pando Moto Unveils 2020 Collection – Fashionable Moto Gear for the Safety Conscious

Lithuanian motorcycle gear manufacturer Pando Moto has unveiled its voguish new 2020 collection. Included in this year’s lineup is a full range of motorcycle...

2021 BMW R 18 First Look (18 Fast Facts): The Big Boxer Arrives

The long-awaited mega cruiser from BMW is here. Inspired by the classic R 5 from the 1930s, the 2021 BMW R 18 looks ready...

Joe Rocket Accelerator Jeans: Extremely Long-Term Test

I have been wearing a pair of Joe Rocket Accelerator jeans for three years or so, and I keep waiting for them to wear...