Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport MXoN Legends & Heroes: 1981 Team USA

MXoN Legends & Heroes: 1981 Team USA


1981 MXoN Award

In occasion of the 64th edition of the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations, Legends & Heroes Motocross Tour organized a special Awarding to the first ever American Team winning the MXoN race event back in 1981 at Bielstein, W. Germany.

Chuck Sun, Danny Laporte, Donnie Hansen were handed an award by Mr. Alex Moroz, Managing Partner of the Tour, in memory of their great performance opening up USA’s record winning account, which is currently at 20 wins.

Again in 1981, the same team went on to take also the Trophy of Nations at the demanding track of Lommel. The Belgian sand was a type of ground the Americans were not expected to be competitive at, but that trio shocked the world and marked the start to a new era where Team USA was going to be a solid presence.

Johnny O’Mara could not be present at the awarding but he was of course mentioned and given a “symbolic” award as he was a key player in USA’s 1981 success.

Instead Roger De Coster, the current USA Team Manager and the man who first led the squad to success, joined the ceremony as a special guest.

Legends & Heroes Motocross Tour are a dedicated group of Motocross enthusiasts who, over the years, have discovered the value of the rich 40 plus years of Motocross legacy and its impact on the American motorsports history.

Through their tours, the association aims at spreading awareness on such history as well as on the history of Motocross itself.

Photo: 1981 Team USA with their well deserved MXoN Awards

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 World Superbike Schedule First Look: 13-Round WSBK Calendar

The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is now public, and it is planned to be a 13-round affair. Government restrictions in reaction to...

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...