NHRA: Hines wins Pro Stock Motorcycle

Houston Race Report

Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines rider Andrew Hines prevailed in a battle of class champions to win the Pro Stock Motorcycle competition at the O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Spring Nationals at Houston Raceway Park. Riding the Screamin’ Eagle Harley-Davidson V-Rod, Hines defeated defending class champion Buell rider Hector Arana in the final round of eliminations to claim the 19th Pro Stock Motorcycle victory of his career.

Andrew Hines says: "This was not only a great win for Harley-Davidson, but also for Vance & Hines," said Andrew Hines. "This is the first time this organization has ever won at Houston. We’ve never won here with Harley. My brother Matt never won here, and my dad and Terry Vance never won here. It goes back a long way so we are really excited."

Arana, riding the Lucas Oil Buell, was the top qualifier for the event with an elapsed time (ET) of 6.856 seconds. Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines rider Ed Krawiec qualified second at 6.863, while Hines was the third-quickest in qualifying with a pass at 6.870.

Krawiec opened Sunday eliminations with wins over Master P/No Limit Buell rider Redell Harris, who fouled at the start, and Racers Edge Suzuki rider Michael Phillips. Hines rolled through the first two rounds with wins over Pirana Z Buell rider Junior Pippin and Karen Stoffer on the Geico Suzuki.

This set up a semi-final round featuring Arana, the defending Pro Stock Motorcycle champion, and three past champions in Hines and Krawiec on the Harley-Davidson bikes, and Matt Smith on the Al-Anabi Racing Buell. Arana (6.888) had no problem with Smith (7.256) after Smith’s motorcycle had mechanical issues during the run. Teammates Hines and Krawiec each had seven wins over the other coming into this round, and it was Hines going to the final with a 6.905 run to beat Krawiec’s 6.913 pass.

Eddie Krawiec says: "If you are going to lose, lose to your teammate," said Krawiec. "Anytime you make it to the semi-finals it’s a good weekend. It looks like we’ll have both bikes in the top-four in points now, which is good for the team."

Hines laid down a solid 6.998-second pass in the final but didn’t need it, as Arana left 0.012 seconds early, fouling and handing the win to the three-time champion.

Andrew Hines says: "That V-Rod power was just awesome today, "said Hines. "We still need to get better in the first 60 feet. We’ve got massive traction but now we need to get off the line. Last night we really worked hard and changed the transmission in both bikes, and worked on the clutches. Once the bike gets rolling it’s really fast. We could have set a new national record this weekend if we could get off the line a little better. We’ve got three weeks before the next race to work on some new ideas to fix that."

Following three rounds of the 17-race 2010 NHRA Pro Stock schedule, Arana leads in points with 284. Krawiec is second with 244, followed by Smith with 235 points. Hines jumps from 10th place to fourth with 214 points. Stoffer is fifth with 167 points.


1. Andrew Hines; 2. Hector Arana; 3. Eddie Krawiec; 4. Matt Smith; 5. Karen Stoffer; 6. Michael Phillips; 7. Jim Underdahl; 8. Craig Treble; 9. LE Tonglet; 10. Junior Pippin; 11. David Hope; 12. Douglas Horne; 13. Mike Berry; 14. Angie Smith; 15. Steve Johnson; 16. Redell Harris.

The next Pro Stock Motorcycle event on the 2010 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series schedule is the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals, April 30-May 2, at Gateway International Raceway in Madison, Ill.

Screamin’ Eagle Performance Parts are inspired by and built in the spirit of the raw adrenaline and power of motorcycle racing. Screamin’ Eagle Pro parts are specifically designed for race-use applications, while Screamin’ Eagle parts offer street-use performance options for the Harley-Davidson motorcycle owner. Visit www.harley-davidson.com for more information.

The Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines Pro Stock Motorcycle team is sponsored by Matco Tools, Dunlop and S100.