2021 World Superbike Schedule: 13-Round WSBK Calendar (Updated 4/17)

March 9 update: Circuito Estoril is out as the opener. MotorLand Aragón will now host the opening round of the 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship Series on May 21-23. Portugal is still going to be part of the series, but the date is not TBA. Also, a new track has been added to WSBK. On August 20-22, World Superbike will be racing at Circuito de Navarra in Los Arcos, Spain, about 60 miles southeast of Bilbao.

February 17 update: The opening round at Assen has been moved to July 23-25. The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship Series will now start on May 7-9 at Circuito Estoril in Portugal.

April 17 update: Portugal’s now has a weekend. It will be Round 2, on May 28-30.

The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is now public, and it is planned to be a 13-round affair. Government restrictions in reaction to COVID-19 have impacted the series schedule. The series doesn’t start until late April, and is heavily backloaded to the final quarter of 2021.

The first five rounds are in Europe, with them spread out over two-and-and-half months. There’s a two-month summer break before restarting the series at Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours in France on September’s first weekend. After a week off, there are races on three consecutive weekends—two in Spain, and one in Portugal.

2021 World Superbike Schedule: Championship Series Calendar

In mid-October, the series travels to Circuit San Juan Villicum in Argentina. A month later, the new Mandalika Circuit in Indonesia makes its WSBK debut. Somewhere in the mix is Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in Australia. It is a confirmed race, despite a date not yet determined.

In addition to the unpredictability of government responses to COVID-19, there are a few caveats for the schedule. Circuito Estoril and Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit are still subject to a contract being signed. It will be WSBK-only at Donington Park, and only WSBK and WSSP at the flyways.

Although we always remind you that the schedule is subject to change, we all know that has been truer than ever over the last year.

Photography by Graeme Brown, et al

2021 FIM Superbike World Championship Schedule

  1. May 21-23: Spain, MotorLand Aragón
  2. May 28-30: Portugal, Circuito Estoril
  3. June 11-13: Italy, Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
  4. July 2-4: UK, Donington Park
  5. July 23-25: The Netherlands, TT Circuit Assen
  6. August 20-22: Spain, Circuito de Navarra
  7. September 3-5: France, Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours
  8. September 17-19: Spain, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
  9. September 24-26: Spain, Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto
  10. October 1-3: Portugal, Portimão Circuit
  11. October 15-17: Argentina, Circuito San Juan Villicum
  12. November 12-14: Indonesia, Mandalika International Street Circuit
  13. TBA: Australia, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

2020 FIM Superbike World Championship Series Final Standings

  1. Jonathan Rea, Kawasaki, 360 points (11 wins, 17 podiums)
  2. Scott Redding, Ducati, 305 (5 wins, 14 podiums)
  3. Chaz Davies, Ducati, 273 (2 wins, 9 podiums)
  4. Toprak Razgatlioglu, Kawasaki, 228 (3 wins, 9 podiums)
  5. Michael Van Der Mark, Yamaha, 223 (1 win, 8 podiums)
  6. Alex Lowes, Kawasaki, 189 (1 win, 4 podiums)
  7. Michael Ruben Rinaldi, Ducati, 186 (1 win, 3 podiums)
  8. Loris Baz, Yamaha, 142 (4 podiums)
  9. Álvaro Bautista, Honda, 113 (1 podium)
  10. Leon Haslam, Honda 113
  11. Garrett Gerloff, Yamaha, 103 (3 poidiums)
  12. Tom Sykes, BMW, 88
  13. Xavi Fores, Kawasaki, 61
  14. Federico Caricasulo, Yamaha, 58
  15. Eugene Laverty, BMW, 55
  16. Leandro Mercado, Ducati, 24
  17. Marco Melandri, Ducati, 23
  18. Jonas Folger, Yamaha, 19
  19. Sandro Cortese, Kawasaki, 14
  20. Sylvain Barrier, Ducati, 12
  21. Maximilian Scheib, Kawasaki, 11
  22. Takumi Takahashi, Honda, 6
  23. Matteo Ferrari, Ducati, 5
  24. Christophe Ponsson, Aprilia, 4
  25. Roman Ramos, Kawasaki, 4
  26. Lorenzo Zanetti, Ducati, 3
  27. Valentin Debise, Kawasaki, 2
  28. Eric Granado, Honda, 1
  29. Xavier Pinsach, Kawasaki 1