Electric Motorcycles 2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government restrictions. There will be seven MotoE World Cup rounds in 2021, with a double-header finishing off the season at Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli on September 18 and 19. The season kicks off at the Spanish Grand Prix at Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto on May 2.

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Calendar
MotoE Cup Titleholder Jordi Torres (#40)

Jordi Torres will be the defending 2020 MotoE World Cup titleholder. Torres earned the title through consistent finishes, scoring top-six points at every round. Matteo Ferrari and Dominique Aegerter both had more wins than Torres. However, disasters at the penultimate race for Ferrari and Aegerter at Le Mans gave Torres the opportunity to take the championship, and he pounced on it. Torres rides for the Pons Racing 40 team.

As always, the entire field will be racing Energica Ego Corsa electric-powered motorcycles. The races are action-paced 15-minute sprints. In seven races in 2020, there were five different winners and nine different riders on the podium.

2021 MotoE World Cup Schedule

  1. May 2: Spanish Grand Prix, Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto
  2. May 16: French Grand Prix, Le Mans
  3. June 6: Grand Prix of Catalunya, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
  4. June 27: Dutch Grand Prix, TT Circuit Assen
  5. August 15: Austrian Grand Prix, Red Bull Ring
  6. September 18: Grand Prix of San Marino e della Riviera de Rimini, Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
  7. September 19: Grand Prix of San Marino e della Riviera de Rimini, Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli

2020 MotoE World Cup Final Standings

  1. Jordi Torres, 114 points (1 win, 4 podiums)
  2. Matteo Ferrari, 97 (2 wins, 4 podiums)
  3. Dominique Aegerter, 97 (2 wins, 4 podiums)
  4. Mike Di Meglio, 75 (2 podiums)
  5. Mattia Casadei, 74 (2 podiums)
  6. Niki Tuuli, 53 (1 win, 2 podiums)
  7. Eric Granado, 53 (1 win, 1 podium)
  8. Josh Hook, 52 (1 podium)
  9. Niccolo Canepa, 51
  10. Xavier Simeon, 45 (1 podium)
  11. Lukas Tulovic, 39
  12. Alessandro Zaccone, 37
  13. Alejandro Medina, 36
  14. Alex De Angelis, 35
  15. Xavi Cardelus, 34
  16. Tommaso Marcon, 33
  17. Maria Herrera, 33
  18. Jakub Kornfeil, 15

Don Williams
Don Williamshttp://www.ultimatemotorcycling.com
With 50 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Bob 114 First Look (6 Fast Facts)

When the Softail Standard was released last year and functionally the same motorcycle as the Street Bob, we knew something had to be afoot...

2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special First Look: Hot Rod Bagger

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special is a Touring model that The Motor Company puts in a sub-category—Hot Rod Bagger. To earn that title,...