Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross SLC7 Fantasy Supercross Tips (8 Fast Facts + Track Map)

SLC7 Fantasy Supercross Tips (8 Fast Facts + Track Map)

We are here–the end of the 2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series. It’s your last chance to roost your friends in fantasy supercross and earn bragging rights for the year. The title is still up for grabs between Eli Tomac and Cooper Webb, so that adds some drama and strategy to the final round at Rice-Eccles Stadium. With no further delay, here are our SLC7 fantasy supercross tips in the format.

Cooper Webb (#1), Ken Roczen (#94) and Eli Tomac

Nothing has changed at the top—it’s still 1-2 for Eli Tomac and Cooper Webb. These two riders continue to dominate the two top spots, and they’ll likely do the same at SLC7. Given that Webb is in a must-win situation and Tomac only has score six points (17th place) to secure his first 450SX championship. Look for Webb to do his part, with Tomac right behind him.

SLC7 Fantasy Supercross Tips - Eli Tomac
Eli Tomac

The riders for finishing positions three through five have established themselves again, though the order isn’t obvious. Without a doubt, look for Jason Anderson, Zach Osborne, and Ken Roczen to finish behind Tomac and Webb. The only question is in what order the trio will finish, so we’ll look at each rider individually.

SLC7 Fantasy Supercross Tips - Osborne and Plessinger
Zach Osborne (#16) and Aaron Plessinger

Zach Osborne looks great for P3. With a record of 5-3-4-2-4-3 in Salt Lake City, Osborne has been delivering consistently–he finishes in the top five every single race. The only other riders who can say that are Tomac and Webb. With three top-three finishes in those six races, Osborne is the best bet for P3 in SLC7.

SLC7 Fantasy Supercross Tips - Roczen and Tomac
Ken Roczen (#94) and Eli Tomac

With three top-five finishes in a row, Ken Roczen looks to be back. Don’t expect Roczen to run with Tomac and Webb all night, and Osborne is looking healthy and still hungry. Roczen can reclaim P2 in the series standings, though he’s going to have a difficult time picking up seven points on Webb. It’s not unreasonable to think you might see Roczen on the final-round podium, but P4 looks more likely.

SLC7 Fantasy Supercross Tips - Jason Anderson
Jason Anderson

Jason Anderson is a safe P5 choice. Anderson has beaten Osborne and Roczen twice each in six rounds in SLC. That’s reason enough to put him in P5 for SLC7. Unless something catastrophic happens, he’s going to be in the top five and score you points. Past performance in SLC doesn’t put Anderson in front of the four riders we are picking ahead of him, so P5 it is.

Weather could be a factor, with temperatures in the high 80s at race time. The chance of rain is zero, with a 10 mph breeze. The racing starts at 2 p.m. local time, so there won’t be much shade on the track early. If you believe in the weather tea leaves, swap Roczen and Anderson in your picks.

Benny Bloss

With going with P13 as the Wild Card, it’s coin-flipping times. The lower the finishing position, the harder it is to call, and unlucky P13 is pretty far down in the field. You have to look very closely at Benny Bloss (13-13-13-10-13-11 in SLC). It’s hard to argue against four P13s in six rounds, so he’s our pick. Also worthy of strong consideration is Justin Hill, who is 13-14-12 in the last three rounds. Dean Wilson finished in P13 on Wednesday, but he’s a solid top-10 finisher, so don’t pick him to repeat. No one else has finished in P13 in SLC, so stick with either Bloss or Hill.

The television coverage of the finale is a bit complicated, so consult our 2020 Supercross TV Schedule.

 Photography by Michael Brigida, Rich Shepherd, et al.

The author is in the top one percent of players.

2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series Standings (after 16 of 17 rounds)

  1. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki), 366 points (7 wins; 12 podiums)
  2. Cooper Webb (KTM), 344 (4 wins; 13 podiums)
  3. Ken Roczen (Honda), 338 (4 wins; 10 podiums)
  4. Justin Barcia (Yamaha), 269 (1 win; 3 podiums)
  5. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna), 264 (4 podiums)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (Honda), 233
  7. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna), 226 (3 podiums)
  8. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna), 218
  9. Justin Brayton (Honda), 216
  10. Justin Hill (Honda), 199
  11. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha), 195
  12. Blake Baggett (KTM), 193 (1 podium)
  13. Martín Dávalos (KTM), 172
  14. Vince Friese (Honda), 147
  15. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki), 129 (2 podiums)
  16. Chad Reed (Honda/KTM), 100
  17. Benny Bloss (Yamaha/KTM), 99
  18. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki), 87
  19. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha), 80
  20. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki), 53
  21. Broc Tickle (Suzuki), 42
  22. Ryan Breece (Suzuki), 37
  23. Alex Ray (Kawasaki), 31
  24. Justin Bogle (KTM), 24
  25. Adam Enticknap (Suzuki), 21
  26. Chris Blose (Honda), 18
  27. Daniel Herrlein (KTM), 8
  28. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 7
  29. James Weeks (Yamaha), 7
  30. Freddie Norén (Suzuki), 7
  31. Henry Miller (KTM), 6
  32. Carlen Gardner (Honda), 6
  33. Jimmy Decotis (Suzuki), 4
  34. Ronnie Stewart (Husqvarna), 3
  35. Jason Clermont (Kawasaki), 3
  36. Cade Autenrieth (Honda), 3
  37. Mason Kerr (Kawasaki), 2
  38. Jerry Robin (Honda), 1
  39. Logan Karnow (Kawasaki), 1
  40. Josh Cartwright (Kawasaki), 1

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

2020 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Standard Review: Stripped-Down

The 2020 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Standard serves several purposes. Its stripped-down nature makes it an ideal starting point for a custom build, as it...

Cardo Freecom 4+ Review: Motorcycle Bluetooth Communication

This is the story of Neil and the three Bluetooth communication devices. Once upon a time, I spent a ton of money on a...

2021 Yamaha YZ Lineup First Look: The Dirty Dozen Racers

Yamaha brings 12 YZ models for racing in 2021, running from the neophyte-ready YZ65 to the new supercross-platform YZ450F Monster Energy Yamaha Racing Edition....

2021 Beta 300 RX First Look: Limited-Edition Motocross Motorcycle

Beta, the boutique Italian motorcycle manufacturer known for its enduro, dual-sport, and observed trials motorcycles, is making a move into the American motocross market...

Pirelli Sport Demon Street Tires: Long-Term Review Begins

The Metzeler Lasertec tires that arrived as standard equipment on my 2015 Triumph T214 Bonneville had served me well. But, with 7,012 miles on...

Voxan Wattman Land Speed Record Electric Motorcycle First Look

Almost totally unknown in the United States, Voxan Motors was founded in 1995 in France by Jacques Gardette. Voxan began life building a variety...