Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road Sallstrom Wins Unlimited Class at Freemansburg AMA Hillclimb

Sallstrom Wins Unlimited Class at Freemansburg AMA Hillclimb

Sallstrom Wins Unlimited Class at Freemansburg AMA Hillclimb2014 Freemansburg AMA Hillclimb Results

Jay Sallstrom won the Unlimited Class hillclimb at Round 7 of the VP Racing Fuels AMA Pro Hillclimb series held in Freemansburg, Pa., on Sunday.

With the win, Sallstrom brought the series to a draw with Vinny Nuzzolilli. John Koester opened his lead in the Xtreme class with his fifth win. Rookie Pro Sport rider, Matt Walker made it three wins in a row in his class.

Sallstrom, the only Unlimited class rider to break nine seconds in the first half, sat out the second half waiting to see if he’d be challenged. Koester came close at 9.063 seconds. Nuzzolilli pulled ahead of both with an 8.766-second E.T. forcing Sallstrom to ride. An all-out 8.549-second ride, Sallstrom clinched the win and tied the series.

In the Xtreme class Koester showed that laying down a perfect ride early can fend off would-be challengers and secure the win. He posted an 8.887-second time in the first half and it held. Sallstrom followed with a 9.132-second E.T. and Nuzzolilli posted a 9.422-second time in the second half for second and third, respectively. Koester’s lead in series points widens to nine while Nuzzolilli trails Sallstrom by 21.

Walker took the Pro Sport lead in the first half, cresting in 15.174 second only to lose it when Kyle Welch posted a 14.960-second E.T. Adam Holmes wedged into third just before intermission. Walker battled back in the second half, posting a 14.500-second time and leaping into first. Welch’s answer fell short at 430 feet. Walker holds a 13 point lead over Welch going into the final round with Molly Carbon in third, nine behind Welch.

2014 Freemansburg AMA Hillclimb Results:

U/L: 1. Jay Sallstrom (Yamaha); 2. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Honda); 3. John Koester (Honda); 4. Phil Libhart (Triumph); 5. Scott Wentz, Jr. (Yamaha).

Xtreme: 1. John Koester (Honda); 2. Jay Sallstrom (Yamaha); 3. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Honda); 4. Phil Libhart (Triumph); 5. Robby DeBusk (Yamaha).

Pro Sport: 1. Matt Walker (Honda); 2. Kyle Welch (Honda); 3. Adam Holmes (Honda); 4. Nicholas Briggs (Yamaha); 5. Ryan Preece (Honda).

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines. Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...