Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Blazusiak Wins Las Vegas EnduroCross

Blazusiak Wins Las Vegas EnduroCross

2011 AMA EnduroCross Fimale

KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak won both main events at the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Finals presented by Lucas Oil in Las Vegas.

Monster Kawasaki’s Justin Soule finished second in the first main event followed by Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder.

In the second main event, Monster Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert earned his first ever EnduroCross podium with a second ahead of KTM’s Mike Brown. Blazusiak ended with a perfect 240 points and Brown had a solid second in the championship with Soule overtaking Geoff Aaron for third in the chase.

Beta’s Cody Webb set the fastest lap time during the afternoon Hot Laps, which determine the heat race gate picks and bragging rights. Blazusiak was second with Brown third, Graffunder forth and Soule fifth. Webb, Blazusiak and Brown won the three heat races for the direct transfer to the double main events. Destry Abbott and Colton Haaker were among the surprise non qualifiers.

Blazusiak took the $1000 Girardi Wealth Management Holeshot award to start the first main event followed by Soule, who stayed close during the entire main event to keep the race interesting; but Blazusiak rode a flawless race to keep his perfect season intact.

Husqvarna’s Graffunder got on the podium in only his second race back after a broken wrist kept him out of most of the season. Brown passed Webb in the last turn to take forth. British KTM Rider, Johnathan Walker, rode a good race to finish sixth ahead of Robert, Bobby Prochnau, Kyle Redmond, Geoff Aaron, Jacob Argubright and Gary Sutherlin.

GEICO Honda’s Redmond took the $1,000 Girardi Wealth Management Holeshot award in the second main but Blazusiak quickly passed him to take the lead. Blazusiak held nothing back and immediately checked out to a large lead.

Redmond held second for a few laps but then Monster Kawasaki’s Robert took over the position and held on for his first ever EnduroCross podium finish. Brown was a very close third ahead of Soule and Redmond, who held on for fifth. Aaron had an off night and finished sixth with Prochnau, Graffunder, Webb, Walker, Argubright and Sutherlin rounding out the main event in 12th.

Taylor Robert won the E3 Spark Plugs Junior Championship, which recognizes expert riders that are 21 and under. Keith Sweeten was second in the Junior Championship and Jacob Argubright was third even though he missed several rounds to race National Hare & Hound events.

Max Gerston won the Open Amateur EnduroCross Grand Championship ahead of Derrick Mahoney and Shane Cuthbertson. In the Vet 35-plus class, Kurt Nichol took the win Josh Adams and Shane Cuthbertson. Bryan Roper won the TrialsCross class ahead of Max Nelson and Chase Harker. The Baja Designs night race was won by Eric Rhoten over Ryan Rodgers and Wally Palmer.

The Freegun Underwear Women’s invitational was won by Louise Forsley, the top female Trials rider that used her consistency to make up for a crash on the first lap. Maria Forsburg, the current GNCC Champion finished second ahead of fifteen-year old Rachel Gutish, Kacy Martinez and Nicole Madsen.

The 2012 Championship will expand to eight events with the series kicking off in Las Vegas on Friday, May 4th on Supercross finals weekend.

2012 Las Vegas GEICO AMA EnduroCross Main Event 1 Results:

  1. Taddy Blasuziak
  2. Justin Soule
  3. Cory Graffunder
  4. Mike Brown
  5. Cody Webb
  6. Jonathan Walker
  7. Taylor Robert
  8. Bobby Prochnau
  9. Kyle Redmond
  10. Geoff Aaron
  11. Jacob Argubright
  12. Gary Sutherlin

2012 Las Vegas GEICO AMA EnduroCross Main Event 2 Results:

  1. Taddy Blazusiak
  2. Taylor Robert
  3. Mike Brown
  4. Justin Soule
  5. Kyle Redmond
  6. Geoff Aaron
  7. Bobby Prochnau
  8. Cory Graffunder
  9. Cody Webb
  10. Jonathan Walker
  11. Jacob Argubright
  12. Gary Sutherlin

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...