Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport MX Sports: AMA Motocross Awards

MX Sports: AMA Motocross Awards

Motocross Awards

Following the conclusion of the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship and the inaugural Pala Motocross National, the 12th and final round of the world’s most prestigious motocross championship on September 11th, MX Sports Pro Racing will host its second annual awards banquet from Pala Resort and Casino to celebrate the season that was.

On Sunday, September 12, the riders and teams of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, along with members of the motocross industry, will gather to honor the season’s champions from the 450 Class, 250 Class and WMX Class, while also acknowledging the people and events that made the 2010 season so memorable.

Headlining the awards that will be handed out that evening are the coveted Edison Dye Motocross Cup, awarded to the championship-winning team of the 450 Class, and the Gary Jones Motocross Cup, given to the team behind the champion of the 250 Class. Additionally, the Women’s Motocross Cup will be presented to the team that captures the WMX Class title.

All three of the respective 2010 class champions will have their chance in the spotlight, receiving their own trophy and distinguished medal commemorating their achievement and serving as the ideal complement to the exclusive Number One plates that will adorn their bikes the following season.

MX Sports Pro Racing will also recognize the 2010 Sportsman of the Year, which is given to the rider that exhibited the determination and class often identified with the most renowned names in the sport, as well as handing out Rookie of the Year accolades to the top first-year rider in each class.

Moreover, the Team Manager of the Year, Motocross Team of the Year, Event of the Year and Transport Driver of the Year will give credit to people behind the scenes at the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, making it possible for the world’s best riders and a nation full of avid motocross fans to enjoy a first-rate global competition in one of the toughest sports on the planet.

Prior to the festivities on Sunday evening, the inaugural Alli Sports Golf Tournament will take place from the Temecula Creek Inn Golf Course. The biggest names of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship will hit the links with friends and teammates to enjoy some friendly golf competition and have some fun away from the track.

For tickets and fan and racing information on the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, log on to

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....