Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2020 Glendale Supercross Results and Coverage: Roczen Sweeps

2020 Glendale Supercross Results and Coverage: Roczen Sweeps

It was a clean sweep for Ken Roczen at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., as he won the first Triple Crown race in the 2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series. The win made Roczen the first repeat winner of 2020, and boosted his lead in the standings to eight points over Eli Tomac. Tomac went 2-2-3 on the night to easily secure P2 overall while Jason Anderson surged to P3 with a 5-3-2 run.

2020 Glendale Supercross Results, Coverage, and Standings - Roczen, Tomac, Cianciarulo, Stewart
Roczen leads Tomac, Cianciarulo, and Stewart.

Tomac passes A1 winner Justin Barcia in the standings. Barcia took P5 overall, despite not making the top 5 in any of the three Main Events, going 6-8-7. Defending Supercross Champion Cooper Webb rebounded from a poor opening Main Event to finish in P4 overall, with an 8-5-4 performance. Webb moves up to P5 in the standings behind Anderson, as Adam Cianciarulo was P8 at Glendale. Cianciarulo crashed out of Main Event 3, giving him a 3-6-17 card for the night.

Two red flags marred the night at Glendale, and the riders ended up performing five Main Event starts. The State Farm Stadium track featured multiple long straights, including a 140-yard start straight. This resulted in lap times over one minute, and the riders were typically spaced well apart. Battles were few, as Roczen led 38 of the 39 laps in the three Main Events. Tomac led the first lap of Main Event 1 before surrendering the lead to Roczen for the rest of the evening.

2020 Glendale Supercross Results, Coverage, and Standings - Ken Roczen and Eli Tomac
Ken Roczen (94) battles Eli Tomac.

Zach Osborne had a terrible night, going 22-11-22, crashing out of Main Events 1 and DQed in the final Main Event, dropping him to P18 overall. Carnage ruled, as four riders failed to line up for the final start. Cianciarulo crashed on lap 11 (of 13) in the last Main Event and was slow to get up, finishing the race two laps down.

Four rounds into the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series, Roczen in the only rider with two wins, and the only rider with three podiums. Four riders—Tomac, Barcia, Anderson, and Webb—have two podiums. The other podium position went to Cianciarulo. Only Anderson has finished in the top 5 at all four rounds.

The series moves to Oakland’s RingCentral Coliseum for round 5, and it has an early start time. Be sure to consult our 2020 Supercross TV Schedule, so you don’t miss any racing. 

Photography courtesy of Garth Milan/Red Bull Content Pool

2020 Glendale Supercross Results, State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

  1. Ken Roczen (Honda): 1-1-1
  2. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki): 2-2-3
  3. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna): 5-3-2
  4. Cooper Webb (KTM): 8-5-4
  5. Justin Barcia (Yamaha): 6-8-7
  6. Justin Brayton (Honda): 7-7-9
  7. Malcolm Stewart (Honda): 4-14-6
  8. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki): 3-6-17
  9. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha): 11-9-8
  10. Blake Baggett (KTM): 12-4-14
  11. Martin Davalos (KTM): 10-16-5
  12. Justin Hill (Honda): 9-13-10
  13. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna): 16-10-11
  14. Vince Friese (Honda): 13-12-12
  15. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki): 15-15-13
  16. Ryan Breece (Suzuki): 19-18-15
  17. Chris Blose (Honda): 17-17-18
  18. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna): 22-11-22
  19. Alex Ray (Kawasaki): 20-20-16
  20. Chad Reed (Honda): 18-19-19
  21. Justin Bogle (KTM): 14-22-21
  22. Jerry Robin (Honda): 21-21-20

2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series Standings (4 of 17 rounds)

  1. Ken Roczen (Honda), 92 points (2 wins; 3 podiums)
  2. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki), 84 (1 win; 2 podiums)
  3. Justin Barcia (Yamaha), 81 (1 win; 2 podiums)
  4. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna), 78 (2 podiums)
  5. Cooper Webb (KTM), 72 (2 podiums)
  6. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki), 71 (1 podium)
  7. Justin Brayton (Honda), 63
  8. Malcolm Stewart (Honda), 62
  9. Blake Baggett (KTM), 55
  10. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna), 48
  11. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha), 46
  12. Justin Hill (Honda), 46
  13. Vince Friese (Honda), 43
  14. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna), 43
  15. Martin Davalos (KTM), 31
  16. Justin Bogle (KTM), 24
  17. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki), 20
  18. Chris Blose (Honda), 18
  19. Chad Reed (Honda), 15
  20. Alex Ray (Kawasaki), 10
  21. Ryan Breece (Suzuki), 10
  22. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki), 7
  23. Benny Bloss (Yamaha), 7
  24. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha), 4
  25. Jimmy Decotis (Suzuki), 4
  26. Fredrik Norén (Suzuki), 2
  27. Jerry Robin (Honda), 1

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

Marc Marquez: 4 – Yes 4 – More Years with Honda MotoGP

Yes - you read that correctly. Marc Marquez has extended his contract with Honda Racing Corporation by four years - something we don't often see...

2020 Indian Scout 100th Anniversary Review (9 Fast Facts)

2020 is a big year for the Indian Scout as Indian Motorcycle celebrates the 100th anniversary of the Scout. It started in 1920 with...

2020 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy 30th Anniversary Review (8 Fast Facts)

The Harley-Davidson Fat Boy grows up in 2020. The petite 107 is dropped, and you have only one motor choice for The Plump One—the...

2020 KTM 1290 Super Duke R Test at Portimão & Algarve Streets

The 2020 KTM 1290 Super Duke R makes no bones about what it was designed to do, with nearly every aspect of it being conducive to collecting tickets as if they were merit badges.

Honda VF700C Magna : One of the Hondas that Harley Built (Tariff Bike)

Say what? Harley built Hondas? Well, no, not in so many nuts and bolts. But back in the early 1980s, Harley-Davidson did take some actions that led directly to a series of bikes from Japanese motorcycle manufacturers as a result. They are sometimes referred to as the “tariff bikes.”

2020 Triumph Tiger 900 Rally Pro Review (27 Fast Facts)

The 2020 Triumph Tiger 900 Rally and Rally Pro are the English marque’s brand-new off-road-focused adventure motorcycles. The pair are part of the all-new...