Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2017 Isle of Man TT Schedule | Race Dates June 3-9 (Promo...

2017 Isle of Man TT Schedule | Race Dates June 3-9 (Promo Video)

2017 Isle of Man TT Schedule / Promotional Video

2017 Isle of Man TT Schedule | Race Dates June 3-9 (Promo Video)
BMW’s Michael Dunlop en route to his record-breaking 13 TT win, the 2016 Senior TT (photo by Wayne Freestone)

The official 2017 Isle of Man TT schedule was released Monday, six months before the world’s most challenging road race begins on the 37.73-mile Mountain Course.

The schedule remains unchanged from the 2016 Isle of Man TT. Practice takes place Saturday, May 27, through Friday, June 2, from 6:20 – 8:50 p.m. daily (local time).

The race action begins Saturday, June 3, and wraps up Friday, June 9:

Saturday, June 3 (local time):

  • RST Superbike TT Race, 11 a.m.
  • Sure Sidecar TT Race 1, 2 p.m.

Monday, June 5

  • Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1, 10:45 a.m.
  • RL 360 Quantum Superstock Race, 2:15 p.m.

Wednesday, June 7

  • Monster Energy Supersport TT Race, 10:45 a.m.
  • Bennetts Lightweight TT Race, 2:15 p.m.
  • SES TT Zero Race, 4:20 p.m.

Friday, June 9

  • Sure Sidecar TT Race 2, 10:15 a.m.
  • PokerStars Senior TT Race, 12:30 p.m.

The 2016 Isle of Man TT dominated by BMW in the literbike classes, and Yamaha in the supersport races. Michael Dunlop won the PokerStars Senior TT and the RST Superbike TT aboard S1000RR machinery, and Ian “Hutchy” Hutchinson the RL Superstock TT, also aboard an S1000RR. Both also set new records along with way.

Dunlop–the nephew of the late Joey Dunlop–became the first rider in history to finish a race in under 17 minutes after dominating the opening RST Superbike race. Then, en route to his 13th career TT win, the Senior TT, Dunlop set another outright lap record: a 1:33.962mph (previous 132.701mph, John McGuinness, Honda CBR1000RR).

[Visit the Ultimate MotorCycling Isle of Man TT page]

The questions is, who will achieve the first-over 1:345 lap record? Is this on the 2017 Isle of Man TT schedule?

Besides winning the 2016 Superstock race, Hutchinson also dominated both Monster Energy Supersport races aboard Yamaha YZF-R6 machinery. This brought his record of total TT wins to 14, tying him with Mike Hailwood for fourth overall behind Dave Molyneux (17), John McGuinness (23) and the late Joey Dunlop (26).

Every year the TT grows, and over 40,000 fans headed to the Isle of Man, which sits in the Irish Sea between the UK and Ireland. The official TT website says there’s no better time to immerse in everything TT than now: “ With travel and accommodation options, brand new grandstand seating, a choice of special events to attend and VIP hospitality available every race day, fans can build their own TT experience, bringing them ever closer to the action and closer to their heroes.”

For additional information on traveling to the TT, visit the IOMTT website.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Results and Coverage

In his Virtual MotoGP debut, Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP test rider and five-time GP World Champion Jorge Lorenzo took the win at the Michelin...

SLC1 Supercross Results and Coverage: Tomac Statement

As racing returned after an enforced break of almost three months, 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series leader Eli Tomac made a clear statement—any...

SLC1 Fantasy Supercross Tips (5 Fast Facts For Winning Picks)

It’s time to get back in the fantasy supercross mode, with seven straight Monster Energy Supercross rounds in a row at Rice-Eccles Stadium in...

Tech Tip: Hydrate Your Battery – Hot Weather Ahead

If your lead-acid battery, often referred to in the trade as a flooded wet-cell battery, has spent the long winter months on the trickle...

KTM Private MotoGP Test at Red Bull Ring: Espargaró and Pedrosa

As the world emerges from the COVID-19 threat, KTM took to the Red Bull Ring for a private test of its latest RC16 MotoGP...

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Preview: Silverstone Circuit

MotoGP virtual racing is back, this time the 2020 MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix on Sunday. The format is returning to racing with riders...