Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2016 Isle of Man TT Recap | Winners & Fatalities

2016 Isle of Man TT Recap | Winners & Fatalities

2016 Isle of Man TT Recap

2016 Isle of Man TT Recap | Winners & Fatalities Michael Dunlop
BMW’s Michael Dunlop

From the first practices two weeks ago at the 2016 Isle of Man TT, there was no doubt that records would be broken.

But broken was an understatement in the Superbike and Superstock classes,  – the records were demolished. And all by one rider – BMW S1000RR pilot Michael Dunlop.

From the first practice on, the BMW S1000RR topped every Superbike/Superstock session. First, Tyco BMW’s Ian Hutchinson was the rider to catch. He was quick throughout practice/qualifying, but couldn’t match Dunlop’s speed in both the RST Superbike and Senior TT.

Visit the Ultimate MotorCycling Isle of Man TT page.

Dunlop earned both of those IOMTT wins, setting new records. In the opening race of 2016, the RST Superbike TT, the Northern Irishman became the first rider in history to post a record lap under 17 minutes. He also posted a best outright lap of 133.393mph – destroying the previous record set in the 2015 Senior TT by 23-time TT winner John McGuinness (132.701mph, Honda).

But Dunlop was not finished; he would also earn win at the closing race, the Senior TT. En route to claiming his 13th career TT, the 27-year old also set another outright lap record – a 133.962mph.

The other huge story was Hutchinson; he won the Superstock TT aboard his BMW S1000RR, and for the second-straight year earned both Monster Energy Supersport races. Win is an understatement; he crushed the competition in all three TTs, which brought his career TT wins to a total of 14. This ties “Hutchy” with Mike Hailwood for fourth overall behind Dave Molyneux (17), John McGuinness (23), and the late Joey Dunlop (26).

2016 Isle of Man TT Recap | Ivan Lintin
Ivan Lintin

Bruce Anstey earned his first-ever SES TT Zero race aboard the Mugen, though he didn’t break McGuinness’ record from last year, which was 119.279mph (Mugen). The other solo race – the Lightweight TT – was won for the second-straight year by Ivan Lintin (Kawasaki ER6).

In the Sure Sidecar TTs, the Silicone Engineering/Barnes Racing duo of John Holden and Andrew Winkle won the first race, and IEG Racing’s Tom Birchall/Ben Birchall the second.

2016 Isle of Man TT Deaths

All this positive race news was marred by tragedy. Four riders died due to accidents on the 37.73-mile Mountain Course. This was the deadliest year since the 2000 IOM TT.

During qualifying on Saturday, June 4, Paul Shoesmith, 50, crashed during Superstock practice, and Dwight Beare, 27, during the opening Sidecar race. On Saturday, Ian Bell crashed during the Sidecar 2 race, and Andrew Soar, 32, during the Senior TT. All four died due to injuries sustained in those wrecks.

Following are the podium finishers for each race of the 2015 Isle of Man TT, along with links to individual race coverage:

2016 RST Superbike TT Results (Saturday, June 4):

1. Michael Dunlop, Hawk Racing BMW S1000RR: 1:44:14.259, 130.306mph (average)

2. Ian Hutchinson, Tyco BMW

3. John McGuinness, Honda Racing

2016 Monster Energy Supersport 1 Results (Monday, June 6):

1. Ian Hutchinson, Team Traction Yamaha YZF-R6: 1:11:36.808, 126.445mph

2. Dean Harrison, Silicone Engineering Kawasaki

3. James Hillier, Quattro Plant Kawasaki

2016 RL360 Quantum Superstock TT Results (Monday, June 6):

1. Ian Hutchinson, Tyco BMW: 1:09:47.543, 129.745mph

2. Dean Harrison, Silicone Engineering Kawasaki

3. James Hillier, Quattro Plant Kawasaki

2016 Monster Energy Supersport TT 2 Results (Wednesday, June 8):

1. Ian Hutchinson, Team Traction Yamaha: 1:11.55.261, 125.905mph

2. Michael Dunlop, MD Racing Yamaha

3. Dean Harrison, Silicone Engineering Kawasaki

2016 Bennetts Lightweight TT Results (Wednesday, June 8):

1. Ivan Lintin, Devitt RC Express Racing Kawasaki ER6, 1:16:26.681, 118.454mph

2. James Hillier, Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki

3. Martin Jessopp, Riders Motorcycles Kawasaki

2016 SES TT Zero Results (Wednesday, June 8):

1. Bruce Anstey, Team Mugen, 19:07.043, 118.416mph

2. William Dunlop, Victory

3. Daley Mathison, University of Nottingham

2016 PokeStars Senior TT Results (Friday, June 10):

1. Michael Dunlop, Hawk Racing BMW, 1:43:56.129, 130.685mph

2. Ian Hutchinson, Tyco BMW

3. John McGuinness, Honda Racing

2016 Sure Sidecar TT 1 Results (Saturday, June 4):

1. John Holden/Andrew Winkle, Silicone Engineering/Barnes Racing, LCR: 59:25.609, 114.282mph

2. Peter Founds/Jevan Waimsely, Trustland Suzuki

3. Alan Founds/Aki Aalto, Trustland LCR

2016 Sure Sidecar TT 2 Results (Friday, June 10):

1. Ben Birchall/Tom Birchall, IEG Racing LCR 58:43.187, 115.658mph

2. John Holden/Andrew Winkle, Silicone Engineering Barnes Racing LCR

3. Tim Reeves/Patrick Farrance, Klaffi Honda DMR

2016 Isle of Man TT Results – Photo Gallery



Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Results and Coverage

In his Virtual MotoGP debut, Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP test rider and five-time GP World Champion Jorge Lorenzo took the win at the Michelin...

SLC1 Supercross Results and Coverage: Tomac Statement

As racing returned after an enforced break of almost three months, 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series leader Eli Tomac made a clear statement—any...

SLC1 Fantasy Supercross Tips (5 Fast Facts For Winning Picks)

It’s time to get back in the fantasy supercross mode, with seven straight Monster Energy Supercross rounds in a row at Rice-Eccles Stadium in...

Tech Tip: Hydrate Your Battery – Hot Weather Ahead

If your lead-acid battery, often referred to in the trade as a flooded wet-cell battery, has spent the long winter months on the trickle...

KTM Private MotoGP Test at Red Bull Ring: Espargaró and Pedrosa

As the world emerges from the COVID-19 threat, KTM took to the Red Bull Ring for a private test of its latest RC16 MotoGP...

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Preview: Silverstone Circuit

MotoGP virtual racing is back, this time the 2020 MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix on Sunday. The format is returning to racing with riders...