Dani Pedrosa GP Wins – 8th on All Time Wins List

Dani Pedrosa GP Wins Reach 50 - Within Top 8 GP Riders
Dani Pedrosa Infographic

Dani Pedrosa reached a another milestone in Grand Prix motorcycle racing this past weekend when he won the Japanese GP at Twin Ring Motegi.

The Japan MotoGP win was Pedrosa’s 50th Grand Prix victory Рeight in the former 125cc class, 15 in the former 250cc class, and 27 in MotoGP. This allowed him to surpass his Repsol Honda teammate, two-time MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez, who has 49 wins.

This also placed Pedrosa as the eighth most successful rider on the list of top GP motorcycle race winners:

  1. Giacomo Agostini, 122 wins
  2. Valentino Rossi, 112 wins
  3. Angel Nieto, 90 wins
  4. Mike Hailwood, 76 wins
  5. Jorge Lorenzo, 60 wins
  6. Mick Doohan, 54 wins
  7. Phil Read, 52 wins
  8. Dani Pedrosa, 50 wins

Pedrosa, who began racing motorcycles at the age of nine in the Spanish Minibike Championship, entered the 125cc class in 2001. A year later he took his debut win at the 2002 Dutch TT. He continued his winning ways, and achieved the 20013 125cc title, which he followed up with the 2004 and 2005 250cc titles.

In MotoGP, he finished runner up in 2007, 2010 and 2012. Pedrosa has raced with Honda for every season of his Grand Prix motorcycle racing career, and his best season was 2005, when he garnered eight wins.

The 30-year-old Spaniard’s Japanese Grand Prix victory was his first of 2015, and also his first since Brno 2014. Pedrosa is currently fifth in the 2015 MotoGP Championship with 154 points with three rounds remaining.