2014 ISDE Final Results | France Makes the Three-peat

KTM's Christophe Nambotin

2014 ISDE Final Results

Going into the final day of the FIM International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) World Trophy Class in San Juan, Argentina, France had to feel the heat of the United States team. The USA came on strong in the late going in its effort to overtake the French team and prevent it from achieving the three-peat as World Trophy Champions.

The U.S., in second place since Wednesday, was resurgent, cutting the French gap down two days in a row going into day six. But, it was not to be — France hung on through the motocross competition of the final day to finish in 19:33:21.56 at 9:46.22 ahead of the United States and win their third consecutive ISDE World Trophy.

It was the third day in a row the U.S. team cut into France’s lead cutting it to 10:22.42 on Day 5, down from the 12:47.85 deficit on day four and from the 16:16.66 gap from Day 3, but it was not enough.

France finished the six days with all six riders, but the United States had to soldier on with only five riders after Zach Osborne’s retirement with mechanical problems on Day 1.

The final day of motocross competition was run in three 8 lap heats, divided as E1, E2 and E3. The motocross action took place at the motocross circuit of the ASER Club (Asociación Sanjuanina de Enduro y Rescate).

The victorious French team, consists of Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Christophe Nambotin, Marc Bourgeois, Jeremy Tarroux, Anthony Boissiere and Fabien Planet. The French team’s winning total time was 19:43:07.78 through all six days. In addition to winning its third consecutive ISDT World Trophy, France has now won six out of seven editions of the World Trophy competition.

“It was a great track for a final MX. Argentina is an extraordinary country with beautiful views. The people are so kind and love the motor sport, that isn’t common in others countries”, said Renet, who also won the individual E2 class.

Michael Brown, Thaddeus Duval, Charlie Mullins, Taylor Robert, Kailub Russell and Zachary Osborne comprised the resilient United States team.

Russell won the final day in class E2 and when it was over, he said, “It’s pretty awesome to win that MX. It’s good to be back on the podium. For a USA team, it is awesome.  It’s been great being here for two weeks I had a lot of fun. As a team, we are pretty happy it has been an awesome Six Days.”

Spain hung on to its position on the podium finishing third, the position it held since Day 3. Spain finished the event one rider down with the retirement of Lorenzo Santolino on Day 3, 55:25.72 off the pace of the French champions. Iván Cervantes, who led the Spanish contingent with consistent strong performances said, “To take a medal back home is always positive and I’m very happy with the job we did as a team. We almost dropped off on Day 4 but we made it through. It was very good.”

Germany finished fourth, 1:05:34.72 off the pace, but had all six riders in contention to the end. The host country’s team, Argentina placed fifth overall two riders down and 8:40:58.06 behind the leader.

Australia, which had shown promising early strength had a lot of problems as the competition wore on, finishing sixth overall 19:28.00.86 back.

Chile, Canada, Belgium, South Africa, Colombia and Uruguay completed the finishing order of the field.

For the first time since 2006, when the late Kurt Caselli led the team, the United States topped the Junior World Trophy class in 12:03:43.65. Team members included Grant Baylor, Steward Baylor, Trevor Bollinger and Justin Jones and all four finished the six day event.

The team dedicated the victory to Caselli and each wore a “Kurt Caselli 66” badge.  Defending champion France finished in second place 1:42.07 behind the U.S. team and with all four riders still in contention.

Australia finished in third place 5:37.92 off the pace, followed by Germany, Argentina, Sweden, Chile, Canada, South Africa and Colombia.

Australia’s Jessica Gardiner (Sherco), Tayla Jones (KTM) and Jemma Wilson (Yamaha) are the defending Women’s World Trophy champions—and dominated the Women’s competition completely, winning again with a time of 9:14:52.68. That put them 1:58:04.24 ahead of second place Canada and 10:37:57.14 ahead of the United States, which was down to one remaining team member. Amanda Mastin finished the final day, but teammates Rachel Gutish and Sarah Baldwin both retired on Day two.

France’s Christophe Nambotin (KTM), Marc Bourgeois (Yamaha) and Jeremy Tarroux (Sherco) finished first, second and third for France in Enduro 1 final standings.

In Enduro 2, France’s Pierre Alexandre Renet (Husqvarna) took the overall title, with the United States’ Kailub Russell (KTM) in second, and Australia’s Matthew Phillips in third.

Australia’s Toby Price (KTM) took the class win in Enduro 3, followed by Spain’s Ivan Cervantes (KTM) and Michael Brown (Husqvarna) of the United States came in third.