Motegi Moto3 | KTM Ajo’s Danny Kent on Pole

2012-motegi-moto3-ktm-ajos-danny-kent-on-pole2012 Motegi Moto3 Qualifying Results

In a typically exciting Moto3 qualifying session at the AirAsia Grand Prix of Japan in Motegi it was Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Danny Kent who charged to his maiden pole position ahead of Maverick Viñales and Sandro Cortese.

Kent looked in threatening form throughout the session, yet left it until the dying seconds to get his head down and take a dominant first-ever Grand Prix pole position with a time of 1.58’371, beating Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales by over two tenths. The Spaniard also looked strong out on track, as he seemed to be benefiting from his recent engine upgrade. Kent’s championship leading teammate Cortese could not improve on his time in his final lap, yet maintained a front row start.

Heading the second row is AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin, who will be disappointed at missing out on the front row, after having shown top-three form in the preceding sessions. Team Italia FMI’s Alessandro Tonucci put in one of his best qualifying performances of the season in fifth, while RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom looked far from happy as he ended up in sixth.

Seventh spot on the grid went to Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger, who twice had to stop with a mechanical fault, the first being attributed to a problem with the bike’s fuel tank breather hose. This grid position is particularly impressive, considering the lack of track time the German had throughout the session. Racing Team Germany’s Louis Rossi lines up next to him in eighth, while JHK t-shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez rounds out the third row.

Another rider who suffered bike problems was Team Italia FMI’s Romano Fenati, who had to wait in the pits a while for his clutch to be changed. And despite not looking entirely comfortable out on track, the young Italian managed to fight his way into tenth spot. There was only one crasher in the session in the form of TT Motion Events Racing’s Niklas Ajo, who walked away unhurt and was able to re-join the session.

2012 Motegi Moto3 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.52Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM211.51’58.371
2.25Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda211.91’58.5740.203 / 0.203
3.11Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM208.81’58.6690.298 / 0.095
4.63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM212.31’58.9510.580 / 0.282
5.19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda211.41’59.0720.701 / 0.121
6.39Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM213.11’59.0970.726 / 0.025
7.94Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM211.31’59.1250.754 / 0.028
8.96Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda210.01’59.2130.842 / 0.088
9.7Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda211.01’59.2870.916 / 0.074
10.5Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda209.61’59.3590.988 / 0.072
11.44Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda205.41’59.4941.123 / 0.135
12.27Niccolò ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3FTR Honda211.51’59.6521.281 / 0.158
13.42Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda209.41’59.6531.282 / 0.001
14.61Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM214.11’59.6861.315 / 0.033
15.23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia JHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda208.71’59.9041.533 / 0.218
16.26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda208.31’59.9451.574 / 0.041
17.12Alex MARQUEZSPAAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda208.41’59.9491.578 / 0.004
18.41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM210.41’59.9741.603 / 0.025
19.84Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda207.61’59.9981.627 / 0.024
20.89Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda209.12’00.0211.650 / 0.023
21.81Hyuga WATANABEJPNProject U 7C HarcHonda210.82’00.0441.673 / 0.023
22.8Jack MILLERAUSCaretta TechnologyHonda206.52’00.1771.806 / 0.133
23.31Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM212.02’00.3862.015 / 0.209
24.9Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERRacing Team GermanyHonda210.42’00.4602.089 / 0.074
25.32Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda207.82’00.5262.155 / 0.066
26.17John McPHEEGBRCaretta TechnologyKRP Honda207.62’00.7552.384 / 0.229
27.82Yuudai KAMEIJPN18 Garage Racing TeamHonda207.22’00.9402.569 / 0.185
28.30Giulian PEDONESWIAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda204.32’00.9872.616 / 0.047
29.51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda211.12’01.2332.862 / 0.246
30.28Josep RODRIGUEZSPAMoto FGRFGR Honda206.32’01.2562.885 / 0.023
31.29Luca AMATOGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM209.02’01.5003.129 / 0.244
32.99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra205.12’02.3623.991 / 0.862
33.80Armando PONTONEITAIodaRacing ProjectIoda198.12’03.8195.448 / 1.457
34.20Riccardo MORETTIITAMahindra RacingMahindra197.42’05.4507.079 / 1.631