Windham to Season Finale in Las Vegas

SX Report

Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship heads to Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium this weekend for the last race of the championship. Last weekend, thousands of motorcycle racing fans braved the chaotic Salt Lake weather to support the many athletes of Monster Energy Supercross.

GEICO Powersports Honda’s Kevin Windham won his second consecutive race of the season. Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer claimed the Western Regional AMA Supercross championship, and his teammate Josh Hansen won the main event, which was the first win of his season. .

Windham opened the main event by winning the Spike Holeshot Award. On lap one, Windham and Honda Red Bull Racing’s Davi Millsaps traded positions several times before Windham made a pass that allowed him to secure the lead for the next 15 laps. Windham now has 18 career wins and sits comfortably in second place with 273 points.

Kevin Windham says: "I kept my head down and put in 15 great laps," said Windham. "The first few laps of the race, Davi (Millsaps) and I had a good battle going. I was probably the only rider here today that was excited when the rain came because I enjoy these conditions."

Salt Lake City marked the first race of the 2010 season where a manufacturer (Honda) single handedly swept the podium. Finishing second and third were Millsaps and Honda Red Bull teammate Andrew Short, respectively.

As the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites championship concluded this past weekend in Salt Lake City, a new champion was crowned. Weimer, needing to finish 15th or better to claim the Lites title, raced his way into fifth place, and was rightfully crowned the new champion. Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki swept the leader boards this season in both the Eastern and Western Regional Lites classes.

In the AMA Supercross Lites class, Hansen started the night off right, winning his heat race and posting the fastest combined overall practice qualifying time with 48.087 to Weimer’s 49.149. During the main, He led 14 of the 15 laps and went on to win the race.

Josh Hansen says: "Tonight I put it together and am really happy to earn this win," said Hansen. "It was rough out there in the rain and snow and doing the triple was pretty scary. It’s definitely been a tough year for me. I’d like to thank Mike Fisher and Mitch Payton for believing in me. I would really like to come back here next season and take Jake’s (Weimer) spot and be holding the number one plastic myself. Can’t wait for Vegas… I really want to win in the dry."

The stage is set for this weekend’s Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout. With competitors from both AMA Supercross Lites regions colliding to race under the Vegas sky, a culmination of the world’s finest tuned competitors kicks off to showcase the future of supercross.

The first AMA Supercross class race was held at Sam Boyd Stadium on Saturday, March 17, 1990, and Jeff Matiasevich won the main event. Jeremy McGrath won the AMA Supercross Lites class race that same evening.

McGrath won three consecutive Lites class races before moving to the premier class where he won four main events. In addition to his seven supercross championships, McGrath is first on the all-time win list in both the AMA Supercross class and AMA Supercross Lites class.

Last year, a sold out, standing-room only crowd of 39,506 packed into Sam Boyd Stadium for the 2009 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, season finale in Las Vegas.

While all eyes were on the heated rivalry between San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart and Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed, rookie Ryan Villopoto stole the show with his second victory in the last three races.

In the annual, talent-filled Dave Coombs Sr. East West Supercross Lites Shootout, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel took the win and earned a Toyota Tundra for his efforts.

2010 Supercross Season Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 338
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 273
3. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 266
4. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 253
5. Josh Hill, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 229
6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 225
7. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 186
8. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 183
9. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki, 174
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 163


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.