Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2018 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage | 6 Fast Facts +...

2018 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage | 6 Fast Facts + Video

2018 Las Vegas Supercross Results:  Anderson Takes the Title, Tomac Wins

It was an anti-climatic end to the 2018 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series, as Jason Anderson methodically rode to a fifth-place in the 2018 Las Vegas Supercross, which was enough to earn him the 2018 title. It’s the first 450SX Supercross title for both Anderson and Husqvarna. After an early battle with Marvin Musquin, the only rider in the finale with a chance to catch Anderson in the title chase—Tomac rode to a four-second win.

  1. Jason Anderson knew what he had to do, and he did it. After qualifying third fastest, Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) took a safe second place in his Heat race, assuring him a good gate pick. Although his sixth place start wasn’t great, it was enough. Anderson passed Benny Bloss for fifth place on the third lap, found a comfortable niche between fourth place Christian Craig and a group battling for sixth place. Anderson didn’t push, and he wasn’t pushed. With Musquin unable to win, Anderson won the 2018 Monster Energy Supercross Championship by a comfortable nine-point margin.
  1. Eli Tomac proved that he was the fastest rider of 2018, if not the most consistent. Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) qualified fastest, won his Heat, got the holeshot in the Main, and lead every single lap of the Main on his way to a win at the 2018 Las Vegas Supercross. In addition to the win, he got a consolation prize of a third-place medal from the FIM, as the AMA Supercross Championship Series also carries with it World Championship status. Tomac finished 38 points back in the standings, with his championship hopes ruined by three rounds—Anaheim 1, Houston, and San Diego—that netted him just two points in the series.
  1. Marvin Musquin hung with Tomac early, but eventually faded. Less than a half-second back after four laps, Musquin (Red Bull KTM) looked like he might have a shot at catching Tomac. However, a small error cost him 1.1 seconds on Lap 5 (of 21). Musquin made another run, getting to within two-thirds of a second of Tomac on Lap 8. Tomac recovered his gap on the following lap, and Musquin never got within a second again. Tomac turned it up on Lap 16, and Musquin couldn’t respond, sealing the deal. Ultimately, it didn’t matter as Anderson had taken care of business by finishing fifth.
  1. The expected battle between Blake Baggett and Justin Brayton for fourth in the standings never materialized, with Baggett taking his fifth podium of the year. Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV-MC/WPS/KTM) was third at the start and Brayton 10th. Baggett held his ground, and Brayton (Smartop/Bullfrog Spas/Honda) ended up dropping behind Justin Barcia (Lap 6) and Vince Friese (Lap 17). Baggett had to be happy to end up fourth in the 2018 Monster Energy Supercross Championship standings, and Brayton ended the year an impressive fifth in the series after winning in Daytona.
  1. Benny Bloss had his best finish of the year—a comfortable sixth place. Bloss (Rocky Mountain ATV-MC/WPS/KTM) got a great fifth place start, and was dropped by Anderson early. Tyler Bowers passed Bloss on Lap 6, and led Bloss for three laps before Bloss regained sixth place for good. Bowers went on to fall on a wet spot on the track and finish 20th.
  2. Anderson led just 27 laps in 17 races in 2018, but it was enough to take the title. In comparison, Tomac led 123 laps and Musquin was in front for 99 laps. However, Anderson scored points at every single round, with both Tomac and Musquin sitting out Round 2 at Houston. Anderson’s championship run was built on consistency.2018 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage

2018 Las Vegas Supercross Results, Sam Boyd Stadium

  1. Eli Tomac, Kawasaki
  2. Marvin Musquin, KTM
  3. Blake Baggett, KTM
  4. Christian Craig, Honda
  5. Jason Anderson, Husqvarna
  6. Benny Bloss, KTM
  7. Weston Peick, Suzuki
  8. Dean Wilson, Husqvarna
  9. Justin Barcia, Yamaha
  10. Vince Friese, Honda
  11. Chad Reed, Husqvarna
  12. Justin Brayton, Honda
  13. Malcolm Stewart, Suzuki
  14. Cedric Soubeyras, Suzuki
  15. Alex Ray, Yamaha
  16. Henry Miller, Suzuki
  17. Dakota Tedder, KTM
  18. Cade Autenrieth, KTM
  19. Josh Hill, Yamaha
  20. Tyler Bowers Kawasaki
  21. Austin Politelli, Honda
  22. Kyle Cunningham, Suzuki

2018 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Final Standings

  1. Jason Anderson, 356 points (4 wins)
  2. Marvin Musquin, 347 (4 wins)
  3. Eli Tomac, 318 (8 wins)
  4. Blake Baggett, 285
  5. Justin Brayton, 275 (1 win)
  6. Weston Peick, 251
  7. Dean Wilson, 208
  8. Broc Tickle, 184
  9. Cooper Webb, 181
  10. Justin Barcia, 177
  11. Malcolm Stewart, 169
  12. Vince Friese, 168
  13. Chad Reed, 159
  14. Tyler Bowers, 149
  15. Benny Bloss, 140
  16. Christian Craig, 134
  17. Cole Seely, 124
  18. Ken Roczen, 102
  19. Kyle Cunningham, 99
  20. Josh Grant, 83
  21. Ben Lamay, 71
  22. Cedric Soubeyras, 65
  23. Kyle Chisholm, 48
  24. Jeremy Martin, 36
  25. Alex Ray, 36
  26. Henry Miller, 29
  27. Dakota Tedder, 26
  28. Cole Martinez, 20
  29. Adam Enticknap, 19
  30. Justin Hill, 18
  31. Austin Politelli, 18
  32. Matt Bisceglia, 15
  33. Josh Hill, 13
  34. AJ Catanzaro, 13
  35. Justin Bogle, 12
  36. Brandon Scharer, 9
  37. Dylan Merriam, 9
  38. Cody Vanbuskirk, 8
  39. Deven Raper, 6
  40. Bradley Taft, 5
  41. Cade Autenrieth, 5
  42. Jake Weimer, 5
  43. Justin Starling, 5
  44. Scott Champion, 5
  45. Carlen Gardner, 5
  46. Collin Jurin, 4
  47. Theodore Pauli, 3
  48. Dustin Pipes, 2
  49. Nick Schmidt, 1

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

KTM Private MotoGP Test at Red Bull Ring: Espargaró and Pedrosa

As the world emerges from the COVID-19 threat, KTM took to the Red Bull Ring for a private test of its latest RC16 MotoGP...

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Preview: Silverstone Circuit

MotoGP virtual racing is back, this time the 2020 MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix on Sunday. The format is returning to racing with riders...

2020 Salt Lake City 1 Supercross Preview (with Track Map)

After a long break from racing due to the government response to the COVID-19 virus, the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is back....

2021 Beta RR 2-Stroke Off-Road Line-Up First Look

For 2021, Beta is continuing to offer four two-stroke off-road RR models ranging from the agile 125 RR to the torquey 300 RR. There...

2020 Ducati Custom Rumble Winner Crowned: Scrambler 1100 FT

The third Ducati Custom Rumble competition between builders of custom Ducati Scramblers has a winner—Marco Graziani of CC-Racing Garage. Entered in the Bully category,...

Ducati Team Signs Jack Miller for MotoGP in 2021

Before a MotoGP race has been run in 2020, the Ducati Team has signed Jack Miller for its 2021 MotoGP factory squad. Miller, 25,...