2016 Indianapolis Supercross Results | Dungey Battles Roczen For Win

2016 Indianapolis Supercross - Dungey battles Roczen

2016 Indianapolis Supercross Results and Coverage | Dungey Wins

2016 Indianapolis Supercross, Dungey Wins
Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey scored his 29th career win at round 13 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis; it was also Dungey’s 29th consecutive podium finish. The short course was treacherous with soft dirt forming multiple deep ruts, making the track increasingly challenging as the night went on.

Dungey benefited from a great start, putting himself in 2nd around the first corner behind Smartop/MotoConcepts Racing’s holeshot artist, Mike Alessi. Dungey quickly made his way around Alessi, and looked like he might be on his way to an easy win.

2016 Indianapolis Supercross - Dungey battles RoczenHowever, Dungey was quickly joined by Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen—Dungey’s closest competitor for the supercross championship—who came around the first corner buried in 11th, but quickly made his way up to 2nd by Lap 4.

Dungey and Roczen paced each other until Lap 12 where they had to deal with lapped traffic—most prominently Smartop/MotoConcepts Racing’s Vince Friese and Autotrader/Monster Energy/Toyota/Yamaha’s Justin Barcia. Short lap times meant numerous encounters with lapped traffic starting on Lap 5, with Dungey lapping all but six riders by the end of the race.

Roczen was able to make the pass on Dungey on Lap 16 when Dungey made an error. Roczen’s lead was short-lived after casing the dragon’s back with a single on the backside of it. Roczen was unable to jump the finish line directly after and surrendered the lead back to Dungey. Roczen came within striking distance on the final lap, but Dungey held his ground to light the candles and take the victory.

2016 Indianapolis Supercross, Anderson podiumsDungey leaves Indianapolis with a 45-point lead in the Monster Energy Supercross Standings over 2nd place Roczen.

Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson rounded out the podium in third, working his way up after getting a 9th place start. Anderson, who looked strong in his Heat race after a good start, was not able to replicate his jump off the gate. Though never as fast as the leaders—he finished 27 seconds off the pace—Anderson picked off riders effectively along the way, being handed 3rd when Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac faltered on Lap 12. Tomac eventually was lapped and finished 9th.

Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard and Yoshimura/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Blake Baggett rounded out the top five, respectively, with both earning their best finishes of 2016.

2016 Indianapolis Supercross, Pourcel ReturnsReturning from injury, Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Christophe Pourcel qualified 1st, transferred from his Heat race, and went on to finish 7th behind Monster Energy/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Chad Reed. The 7th was Pourcel’s top 2016 result.

Coming back from a long layoff due to injury, Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Broc Tickle struggled to a 14th place finish. Another best-of-year finisher was Friese, who took 11th.

Not riding due to injury was Red Bull/KTM’s Marvin Musquin (injured in a mid-week training incident) and Yoshimura/Suzuki Factory Racing’s James Stewart, who injured his ankle in afternoon qualifying.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results, Round 13, Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis

  1. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F
  2. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  3. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  4. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  5. Blake Baggett – Suzuki RM-Z450
  6. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
  7. Christophe Pourcel – Husqvarna FC 450
  8. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F
  9. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  10. Mike Alessi – Honda CRF450R
  11. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R
  12. Josh Grant – Kawasaki KX450F
  13. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  14. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z450
  15. Justin Barcia – Yamaha YZ450F
  16. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F
  17. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F
  18. Cade Clason – Honda CRF450R
  19. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450
  20. Jake Weimer – Suzuki RM-Z450
  21. Tony Archer – Kawasaki KX450F
  22. Jeff Alessi – Suzuki RM-Z450

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Standings (after 13 of 17 rounds)

  1. Ryan Dungey, 303 points (7 wins)
  2. Ken Roczen, 258 (3 wins)
  3. Jason Anderson, 240 (2 wins)
  4. Eli Tomac, 212 (1 win)
  5. Chad Reed, 193
  6. Marvin Musquin, 182
  7. Cole Seely, 173
  8. Justin Brayton, 149
  9. Trey Canard, 138
  10. Jake Weimer, 106
  11. Davi Millsaps, 105
  12. Weston Peick, 97
  13. Mike Alessi, 94
  14. Christophe Pourcel, 91
  15. Justin Bogle, 76
  16. Vince Friese, 72
  17. Wil Hahn, 56
  18. Blake Baggett, 43
  19. Josh Grant, 41
  20. Nick Schmidt, 28Next round: Edward Jones Dome, St. Louis, April 16, 2016
    TV Coverage: Fox Channel (not FS1 or FS2), 3pm ET

2016 Indianapolis Supercross Gallery