Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road Ryan Villopoto Dominates Thailand MXGP Qualifying

Ryan Villopoto Dominates Thailand MXGP Qualifying

Ryan Villopoto Dominates Thailand MXGP Qualifying
Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto

Last week, Ryan Villopoto – a four-time Monster Energy AMA Supercross Champion – made his debut in the FIM Motocross World Championship.

The Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team KX-450F pilot earned seventh overall (9-8 finishes). Following the race, Villopoto said his MXGP team had some work to do regarding setup, and noted they “would be stronger at the next GP.”

And that next round – Thailand MXGP – began Saturday with qualifying. Under extremely hot conditions, Villopoto dominated his qualifying heat. He took the holeshot and  held a tight line around turn one in Thailand. From there, Villopoto “went on to obliterate the field for one of the most convincing qualifying heat victories we’ve seen in a while,” MXGP reports.

When the heat race wrapped up, the 26-year-old Villopoto qualified over 33 seconds ahead of Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Clement Desalle and over 39 seconds ahead of Team HRC’s Gauiter Paulin.

The battle for third was intense, first between Red Bull KTM Factory Racing teammates Tommy Searle and Ken De Dycker. The man who doubled at last week’s opening round of MXGP in Qatar, Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl, was also in the mix for third, but the red-plate holder crashed, dropping him back to 10.

The German wasted no time, though, and rushed through the field to find himself once again in a battle for third with De Dycker. But Paulin – who started outside the top 10 – was also rushing through the field, and soon in a battle for third.

Paulin quickly passed Nagl and De Dycker to finish third. Nagl would finish fourth, followed by De Dycker in fifth. Villopoto’s Kawasaki teammate Tyla Rattray earned sixth. As for the eight-time FIM Motocross World Champion, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli managed eighth after crashing on turn one.

2015 Thailand MXGP Qualifying Results, Top 10: 1. Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki), 23:41.909; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:33.419; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:39.764; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:45.150; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:53.571; 6. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:57.761; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:03.839; 8. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +1:08.477; 9. Steven Frossard (FRA, KTM), +1:13.457; 10. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), +1:14.376

Indian Offers Home Motorcycle Delivery: Click.Deliver.Ride Program

You say you don’t feel like going down to your local Indian Motorcycle dealer to buy a bike, so you want it delivered instead?...

One-Off Ducati Hypermotard 950 Won By California Rider

After the Ducati Hypermotard 950 Concept was unveiled at the 2019 Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d'Este at Italy’s Lake Como, Ducati decided to do a...

Energica Planning Production Restart at Modena, Italy Headquarters

Energica, builders of electric-powered road-going motorcycles and the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup racebikes, is making plans to restart production at its headquarters in...

2020 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Adventure Review: Home Court Test

Around this time last year, I found myself traipsing around the luxurious island of Sardinia, just a short hop off the western shores of...

Georges Jobé’s Hawkstone Jump: A Look Back to 1984 (with video)

Most American motocross fans are familiar with two of the most massive jumps in MX history. LaRocco’s Leap, a 130-footer at RedBud MX, got...

2020 MotoGP Virtual Race 2 Lineup, Track Set: Valentino Rossi Joins In

The lineup for Sunday’s 2020 MotoGP Virtual Race 2 will include the top six finishers from last month’s opening round. Valentino Rossi, Danilo Petrucci,...