San Diego Supercross Results 2015 | Petco Park

KTM's Ryan Dungey at San Diego SX, 2015
KTM's Ryan Dungey

After 31 years at Qualcomm Stadium, the San Diego stop in the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series has moved Petco Park. Located in the Gaslamp District of downtown San Diego, Petco Park provided an urban feel as several high rise buildings can be seen from inside of the stadium.

Team Honda’s Trey Canard took his second victory of the season after coming around the first corner in second place. Canard put the pass on Ken Roczen on Lap 3 in one of the tricky rhythm sections and didn’t look back until the final laps. Despite having to deal with several lapped riders, the Oklahoma native held off a closing Roczen to take the first-ever 450SX Main Event held at Petco Park.

Canard said: “It’s been a long road, but I’m just so grateful to be in this position again. I opened a gap and Kenny [Roczen] closed it right back in. He kept me on my toes the whole time.”

RCH/Dodge/Sycuan/Suzuki’s Ken Roczen grabbed his first Main Event holeshot of the season when Mike Alessi went wide, and looked poised to take the victory as he utilized his smooth, calculated style to navigate the course. However, Canard did not let Roczen shake loose and Roczen was in 2nd place by the third lap.

Roczen laid back for most of the race before turning up the heat and closing the gap on Canard. Similar to Canard, Roczen had to deal with lapped riders as well. The German rider got caught behind lapped rider, Mafia Motocrew’s Nick Wey, during one of the longer rhythm sections allowing Canard to pull a gap for a few laps. Despite coming close in the final corner, the Suzuki rider had to settle for 2nd place on the night. His result allowed him to gain two points on series points leader Ryan Dungey.

Although Roczen didn’t win, he was happy to be back on the podium: “That was a very fun race, I just made too many mistakes. It was a good battle. I wish I would have picked up the pace sooner, but it’s good to be back on the box. It was a good night tonight and we’ll keep charging.”

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey started the race in 5th and quickly worked his way around Andrew Short and Davi Millsaps to earn 3rd position. Dungey was able to gain a few bike lengths on Roczen a few times during the 20-lap Main, but was unable to challenge Roczen and Canard. Dungey’s podium finish enables him to retain the red plate (signifying the points leader) leading into the next round at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

TwoTwo Motorsport’s Chad Reed finished nine seconds off the podium in 4th place, at what seems to be his favorite city on the Monster Energy Supercross circuit. Reed has six wins in San Diego, more than any other rider in Supercross history.

Reed put his Kawasaki KX450F into 6th place in the first corner and was able to make his way around Andrew Short and Davi Millsaps. Despite his 4th place finish, Reed sits 52 points behind series leader, Ryan Dungey.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac came into the first corner in 7th place, but was forced to work his way through the field after tangling with Reed on the second lap, dropping Tomac to 15th place. Tomac put on an absolute charge in the remaining 18 laps to finish a respectable 5th place and salvage the night after dominating in his Heat race.

Team Honda’s Cole Seely (a Heat Race winner), Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Baggett (took the final spot in the LCQ), BTO Sports KTM’s Andrew Short, RCH/Dodge/Sycuan/Suzuki’s Broc Tickle, and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson rounded out the Top 10.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps looked poised to be a front-runner after a 3rd place start. However, a crash on lap two and another crash later on in the race put him out of contention for the night finishing in 20th place. He sits 72 points behind series points leader, Ryan Dungey.

Photo by Simon Cudby

San Diego Supercross Results 2015 450SX – Round 6 – Petco Park, San Diego, CA

1.Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R

2. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450

3. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

4. Chad Reed – Kawasaki KX450F

5. Eli Tomac – Honda CRF450R

6. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R

7. Blake Baggett – Suzuki RM-Z450

8. Andrew Short – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

9. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z-450

10. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC450

11. Brett Metcalfe – Suzuki RM-Z450

12. Josh Grant – Kawasaki KX450F

13. Mike Alessi – Suzuki RM-Z450

14. Phil Nicoletti – Yamaha YZ450F

15. Jake Weimer – Kawasaki KX450F

16. Kyle Chisholm – Kawasaki KX450F

17. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F

18. Jimmy Albertson – Yamaha YZ450F

19. Killian Rusk – Yamaha YZ450F

20. Davi Millsaps – Kawasaki KX450F

21. Kyle Partridge – Honda CRF450R

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, 127 points

2. Ken Roczen, 118

3. Trey Canard, 109

4. Eli Tomac, 100

5. Jason Anderson, 85

6. Cole Seely, 82

7. Chad Reed, 75

8. Justin Barcia, 71

9. Blake Baggett, 68

10. Andrew Short, 66