Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road KTM's Blazusiak Wins 2013 AMA EnduroCross Championship

KTM’s Blazusiak Wins 2013 AMA EnduroCross Championship

KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak – the 2013 AMA EnduroCross Champion

The 2013 AMA EnduroCross Championship came down to the wire this weekend in Las Vegas, with Red Bull KTM Factory’s Taddy Blazusiak and FMF/KTM’s Mike Brown tied with 130 points.

But although he didn’t win, Blazusiak’s fifth-place finish over Brown’s ninth place allowed him to earn the 2013 AMA EnduroCross Championship. This was Blazusiak’s fifth straight title, making him the most dominate rider of the series.

Taking the overall win in Las Vegas was Beta’s Cody Webb. He was joined on the podium by Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder and KTM’s Kyle Redmond.

Brown was placed in the first heat where he earned the holeshot and took the early lead. He went on to lead every lap of the race to take the heat win and the first transfer spot into the main event. Blazusiak took the holeshot in the second heat. He battled with Cody Webb for the lead for the first half of the heat before settling into second place for an easy transfer spot to the main.

Prior to the main event the thirteen riders had to line up to ride a hot lap to determine gate pick for the main show. Each rider performed one lap around the track to try and secure the fastest time for the best gate pick. Blazusiak and Brown were the last two to go. Blazusiak went first and turned a 57.721 to take the top spot from Cody Webb. Brown was the last rider to go and ended up turning a 57.750 to almost exactly match his teammate’s time while continuing to give the audience an impressive performance.

The two riders couldn’t stay away from each other much longer and launched off the line of the main event in first and second position with Brown edging out Blazusiak for the holeshot.

Brown led the first lap with Blazusiak in tow. As they neared the fire pit section, Brown made a mistake and Blazusiak ran into him. The rest of the pack crashed into them as well causing a huge pile up. Brown and Blazusiak had to wait for the others to get their bikes before they could get back on theirs and once they recovered they were side by side in the back of the pack.

The next five laps of the race would continue in that fashion. Once one rider made a mistake, the other would capitalize and move into the lead and then make a mistake of their own, allowing the other to catch back up. The crowd was on their feet cheering for the two KTM riders as they battled for the championship.

Taddy Blazusiak says: “I’ve never been so far back in a race battling for a championship. I can’t believe how we kept finding each other throughout the race. I don’t think I breathed the entire twelve minutes.”

After the halfway point, while battling with Blazusiak, Brown crashed hard in the water section. He lost approximately 10 seconds during that crash that allowed Blazusiak to get ahead. From there Blazusiak picked up one more position and was able to finish the race in 5th place ahead of Brown’s 9th place finish to secure the championship.

Taddy Blazusiak says: “That was one of the most exciting races I have ever had in my life. It was so much fun to battle with Brown this year and I am excited we were both able to keep it clean while we battled for the championship,” commented Blazusiak.

Blazusiak’s championship marks his fifth consecutive EnduroCross title. He continues to be the most dominant rider in the EnduroCross Series and will return to defend his title once more in 2014.

2013 Las Vegas EnduroCross Results:

1. Cody Webb, Beta

2. Cory Graffunder, Husqvarna

3. Kyle Redmond, KTM

4. Colton Haaker, Honda

5. Taddy Blazusiak, Poland, KTM (wins fifth championship title)

6. Geoff Aaron, KTM

7. Taylor Robert, Kawasaki

8. Gary Sutherlin, KTM

9. Mike Brown, KTM

10. Destry Abbott, Kawasaki

2013 AMA EnduroCross Final Championship Standings:

1. Blazusiak, 146

2. Brown, 142

3. Webb, 135

4. Haaker, 126

5. Robert 119

6. Redmond, 106

7. Graffunder 105

8. Aaron, 85

Sturgis Meals on Wheels Charity Work Pinning the Throttle

One of the less-covered side stories of the 80th Annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally based in the Black Hills of South Dakota is all the...

BSMC x Indian Motorcycle = Stylish Apparel Partnership

America’s Indian Motorcycle and London’s Bike Shed Motorcycle Club have joined forces for a range of lifestyle apparel. The co-branding comes with an announcement...

Top 5 Strange Odors That Can Mean Trouble With Your Motorcycle

It’s true—that schnozz of yours can be a powerful tool for something besides smelling the pizza Do you have a nose for trouble? I mean...

BMW R 18 Dragster by Roland Sands Design: Competitive Urge

“Combining a racing aesthetic and function with a custom style,” Roland Sands explains, “this is what we are probably best known for. We like to...

KTM, Rookie Binder, and South Africa Make MotoGP History

During round three of the 2020 MotoGP - the Monster Energy Czech Republic Grand Prix at Brno - three new names entered the MotoGP...

2019 Indian Scout & Scout Bobber Recall: Brake Issues

Indian Motorcycle Company has recalled 2,742 of its 2019 Indian Scout and Scout Bobber motorcycles due to possible brake-performance issues. Indian says on models equipped...